GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: M is for……. #grow4christ #abcblogging

on January 2, 2014

If you caught my last Blogging Through the Alphabet post it was about love – just scroll down a bit!  Anyway seeing as today, yes, 1-1 – is my anniversary I thought it’d be fitting to say my M word is for Marriage.

I don’t have any great words of wisdom to make a great or a perfect marriage – the Lord knows that I’m far from being a great wife.  I mean the husband and I don’t even have our own bedroom so no romantic nights here – so I’m not sure why I’m writing about marriage, except it seemed that is what the Lord kept putting in my mind when I thought about what to write this week.

For me, marriage was a huge adjustment – I mean HUGE!  I never thought I’d get married, at least not until I had a lucrative career as an attorney – my dream career since I was in the 5th grade and after having read John Grisham – but even when you don’t acknowledge the Lord or even believe there is a god – there is One and He is working and calling to each of us, some of us listen and some of us ignore Him.

I listened.

I met my husband in the summer of 2000 and things proceeded fast and not really how a Christian should do things – but then again I wasn’t a Christian (well I was baptized at 12 but if I had died then I would not have been going to Heaven) – and we were married on 1-1-01 at 12:01 a.m. (yes, we have a funny wedding story for the grandchildren someday).  I was not prepared to be a wife – my parents were divorced and my mom was and is a career woman and there really wasn’t any Titus 2 women in my life to mentor me.

Our first years of married life were fraught with yelling, name calling, things being thrown and doors being slammed.  Then I got pregnant (our first died from a miscarriage) again, and my heart began softening – it took 2 more years before I told my husband that I wanted to go to church.  To say he was shocked is an understatement.  I ended up re-dedicating my life to Christ and desired  at that point to be a better wife.

A submissive wife.  A loving wife.  A Titus 2 wife.  A Proverbs 31 wife.

I fail.  I succeed.  I fail.  I fail.  I fail.  I succeed and then the cycle keeps repeating but one thing I’ve learned in regards to my marriage is that there is a Potter, one who is molding me constantly – my failures and successes are what He uses to bring Him His glory and I’m okay with that.

We don’t have the perfect marriage, who does?  But we have the Lord and He is doing His work.  I pray that my children can see Him through us and that they learn what a marriage is and what a marriage isn’t and that through it all my husband and I are bringing glory to the Lord.

The Lord loves me.  My husband loves me.  I’m a wife.

Blogging Through the Alphabet

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

One response to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: M is for……. #grow4christ #abcblogging

  1. […] is a post about our 9th anniversary and our 7th. Here is one I wrote about Marriage and about Love.  I honestly don’t know if I should still consider this our anniversary.  […]

Comments are closed.
