GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

CWA Review: Tender Merices (Book 4 Sonrise Stable) by Vicki Watson #grow4christ #CWAREVIEWCREW

on January 5, 2014

About the Book:

ISBN: 978-0-9847242-3-9

List Price: $8.95 from Vicki’s website or $9.86 on Amazon

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 127

When Rosie, Carrie, and Grandma are asked to help out at Last Chance Corral, a nursemare foal rescue, Rosie is shocked when she experiences firsthand how cruel some people can be to animals. During the week at Last Chance, the girls learn that the God who knows when a sparrow falls to the ground works through the kindness of others to provide for the animals He created. For the foals, and the girls, Last Chance Corral is a life-changing experience.

Tender Mercies is the fourth book in the Sonrise Stable series, heartwarming stories of an extended homeschooling family as they live, learn, and love together. Mixing adventure, life lessons, and realistic horse experiences, the series is a must for readers who enjoy family values, Christian faith, and, of course, horses!

About Vicki Watson:

My love of horses began when a teenage neighbor offered me my first ride, on the back of her horse. From my 8-year-old perspective, it seemed like the biggest horse in the world. From that moment on, I was addicted. Horses were to become a very important part of my life, although I never could have imagined, at the time, how much God would teach me about Himself and my relationship to Him through these wonderful animals.

The Sonrise Stable series combines my love of God and horses in stories that I hope will help children learn more about both. I have a vision for ten initial books in the series, taking the main characters through one year. Beyond that I’ll see where God leads me.

I have been blessed with three daughters and homeschooled each of them through high school. I enjoy trail riding my Rocky Mountain mare, Nikki, hiking, photography, and playing guitar. I work from home as a and computer programmer and enjoy the variety and flexibility that allows.

My Opinion:

I’ve had the pleasure yet again to read another book in the Sonrise Stable series written by Vicki Watson – these are wholesome, character building and faith filled books written for children of all ages, boys and girls.  I’ve read Carrie and Bandit and Clothed With Thunder – and both of those leave you wanting more of the story of Rosie and Carrie and their family.  In the fourth book, Tender Mercies, we pick up with the family preparing their new house and property for a summer horse camp and the girls get a chance to visit Last Chance Corral to help out for a week.  I find these books intruguing since they are set in Ohio and even the Last Chance Corral is in Ohio – I’ve told my girls we may have to make a drive to do some volunteer work there.

Unlike the other books this one does deal with with more hard hitting issues that come about with animal abuse, including a real scenario of a cat that was shot with an arrow (she does survive) and the killing of foals who aren’t rescued.  I would be okay with my oldest reading it but my very sensitive (overly at times) 9 year old would probably not be able to handle it.  The girls are also homeschooled, which appeals to me since we are also home educators, it’s nice to relate to children in books who are able to volunteer their time when others are sitting in classes – talk about hands-on learning.

If your child is very into horses or if you’re just looking for a way to break up the school monotony then use these books as a spring board for a horse unit study – you can find more links to help you with unit studies in my review of Clothed with Thunder.  As I said above this book, like the others, are full of character building themes, strong faith filled girls and family and wholesome – which are all qualities that are becoming hard to find in contemporary books today.  So whether your child loves horses or just loves to read and you want to put a quality book in their hands then I’d have to recommend the Sonrise Stable series hands down.


The CWA Review Crew- Christian Women Reviewing

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

