GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: N is for …. #grow4christ #abcblogging

on January 14, 2014

Well I had intended to write this a few days ago but having been displaced from our house made my whole writing goal non-existent.  In short N is for New Year – I was so ready to get rid of 2013 and get on with 2014.  2013 wasn’t all bad but the bad outweighed a lot of things like my oldest daughter’s scoliosis surgery and then my husband’s illness which saw several hospital stays and finally a procedure.

Now that we’re 14 days into 2014 I’m ready to see it go too.  We had some major plumbing issues in our very old house, which was built for returning veterans after WW2.  A plumber came out, we paid him and the problem wasn’t fix then on Saturday we called another and paid even more money and my kitchen then my bathroom flooded.  It’s been crazy and with 3 children and two adults you need access to a bathroom 24 hours a day.  So we’ve been finding stuff to do during the day and returning to my husband’s parents at night to sleep.

So this year is off to a big mess!  One thing I’ve been trying to focus on is that God is going to get me us through this even though it’s been exhausting.  We’ve taken the week off school and are instead taking in some sites like a couple Children’s Science Museums, a local county history museum, and libraries so that we have access to restrooms and are still doing educational things.  My mom gave us some financial support, which has definitely helped out – and I have to say God has definitely been working in small but very noticeable ways…..

like, we took some items in to sell to get some extra cash and were told they’d give us a certain amount but we felt no peace and left and went somewhere else the next day where we got more and felt peace about it.

or when we were going to get a cheap hotel room for a night, it just so happened one of the rooms was open so we could see in (we were going to ask to see one first anyway) but it was timed right that we just kept going – the rooms were funky.

God is taking care of us and carrying us – He allowed me a decent’s night sleep which I needed as I was feeling so mentally exhausted and I feel refreshed and renewed this morning and I’m praying it lasts.  Keeping things in perspective is hard, and keeping God at the focus is sometimes even harder, but unlike what some people think being Christian is not easy and nor does life become a bowl full of cherries but we have the Lord who never leaves us, doesn’t turn away in our time of need and continues to love us despite our struggles and fears.
Blogging Through the Alphabet

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

One response to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: N is for …. #grow4christ #abcblogging

  1. Laraba says:

    Honestly, I feel so frustrated on your behalf! I know plumbing isn’t as bad as some things but it is a BIG deal and for you to be displaced from home, ugh! I pray that there is a simple solution, and one that is not too expensive. I pray this is the low point of the year and that everything looks up from here. I pray for good health for your whole clan. God bless you, Sarah.

Comments are closed.
