GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Booksneeze Review: Merlin’s Shadow by Robert Treskillard #grow4christ

on January 27, 2014

About the book:

Betrayal.

After destroying the sinister Druid Stone and freeing his people from its dark control, Merlin finds himself a royal advisor without a king. Along with his friend Garth and Natalenya, his betrothed, Merlin treks north with the orphaned Arthur in hopes of keeping the young ruler safe from soldiers misled by their turncoat captain. Relentlessly pursued by his old nemesis Vortigern, Merlin and his band make for the fortress of Dintaga.

But dangers multiply when Merlin realizes that Vortigern is not his only enemy. Even his own sister appears bent on Merlin’s destruction. As the threat on all their lives increases, Merlin discovers their only hope is sailing to the lands of eternal darkness and once again cleansing the world from an ancient and powerful evil.

You may purchase a copy at Zondervan.

My Opinion:

Thanks to my oldest daughter who has gotten me wrapped up into all things related to the BBC, this book about Merlin (who she also watches a BBC show titled as such) had me intrigued because of the Christian twist on an old story of Merlin and Arthur. I had not read book 1, Merlin’s Blade, so the first couple chapters in this book were hard to get through as I was sorting through the multiple characters and of course trying to figure out what happened in book 1 to bring us where we are in book 2.  I was truly worried because I was thinking if I have to slog through this I’ll just stop because it was so slow moving but then I got to about chapter 6 and I’m glad I didn’t stop!

Now I have to say once it picked up I was very engrossed in it and didn’t want to put it down and I want to backtrack and read book 1 and I so enjoyed the spiritual warfare that was added to this story about Merlin, who is often made out to be a sorcerer but there is much allegory to this book as well and it was written superbly.  Merlin is a Christian, but he’s still learning to trust in God and sometimes, like all Christians do, fails and leans on his own understanding but his struggles feel real unlike some books that it seems likes the character is struggling but their struggles aren’t real.

I really enjoyed chapter 35 as a scene between Ganieda and “The Voice” is detailed (The Voice is to me a description of Satan and Ganieda is Merlin’s younger half sister) and she becomes thirsty and the Voice offers her several drinks and she doesn’t want to accept but ends up accepting as she sees all that the Voice is offering such as public praises, adoration and more but as she approaches the last she hesitates – I won’t give spoilers but this part spoke to me because we are all tempted with worldly wiles and some of us partake and then we realize what we really need is Jesus and some fall completely and take in all of what Satan has to offer.  If you’d like a new way to get into the story of Merlin with a Christian twist this is in, Robert Treskillard spins a wonderful web of suspense, spiritual warfare and ultimately triumph.

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

