GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: Q is for…… #grow4christ #abcblogging

on January 30, 2014

Q is a hard letter to chose something to write about – I was thinking quiet but then I already did quietude last year, then quench came to mind (there are a lot Scriptures about quenching)  but I did that back in 2012.  So I went with Quicken – the definition of Quicken from the Merriam Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary 10th Edition that I have is:

“to make alive; revive. to cause to be enlivened. to cause to burn more intensely. to make sharper”

and there are more – such as relating to the movement of a child within the womb but I’m focusing on the above definitions.

Often we grow weary, either as women, as moms, as wives or just in life all together – we become tired and we no longer feel vibrant, alive, renewed but God wants us to feel alive, He wants us to be renewed (Ephesians 4) – when we are tired and weary we are more susceptible to the ways of the enemy, Satan and his demons – so we always need to be renewing our minds and our spirits with God’s Word and so that brings me to quicken, as it means to make alive, revive, make sharper, or burn more intensely.

So in the words of Psalm 119:40 KJV “Behold, I have longed after thy precepts: quicken me in thy righteousness.”  my ESV says “Behold, I long for your precepts; in your righteousness give me life!”  so we can have life in His righteousness, He will quicken us – or make us alive!  When we are tired the Lord will quicken us – He alone will revive us – not a book, not a movie, not a good long sleep but Him and only Him, He wants to give us life, He wants to be the One to revive us.

Psalm 143:11 in the KJV says: Quicken me, O LORD, for thy name’s sake: for thy righteousness’ sake bring my soul out of trouble.” and the same verse in the ESV reads “For your name’s sake, O Lord, preserve my life! In your righteousness bring my soul out of trouble!”  again we see the Psalmist, David, calling out to the Lord to give him life, to keep his soul out of trouble.  We can look to the men of old as examples and call out to the Lord so He can protect us from the Devil and his henchmen – and we can use their Psalms as we do so.

Another use of quicken (but not the last) is in Romans 8:11 which says in the King James Version “But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by his Spirit that dwelleth in you.” and in the English Standard Version says: “If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.”  So, this means that to those of us who belong to the Lord He will give life to our mortal bodies through His Spirit.  Even as our mortal bodies die, we know that He will also give us eternal life – if we rely on Him to make us alive now!

How great it is to know that when my body and mind is failing I can come to the Lord, the Life-giver, and He will quicken me.  He will give me life, energy, make my mind sharper and more clear and make me burn for Him!  Let’s face it there are days where you want to just hide under the covers, let the children duke it out among themselves and ignore it all – but those are the days that the Lord is calling us, “Come to me all who are weary.”  If we continue on, look to Christ for our strength and tary on through our weariness then there will be much to reap in the end (Galatians 6:9).

It’s hard.  Some days near impossible to feel that quicken.  If we let our weariness, our doubts, our vibrancy, our renewal to fade and let that light go out then we’ve let Satan win.  We must not grow tired, our flesh tells us to stay under that blanket, to hide and ignore but even Job kept on and his faith was stronger in the end, sure he could have gave in to his ‘friends’ his wife but he didn’t, he looked to the Lord – even after losing his children, all his livestock, everything – how much more can we continue on?  So, ladies take heart and know that Lord welcomes us to His feet where we can rest our heads and cry out our tiredness, our frustrations and where we can find that quickening we need to continue on, or even to get out of bed in the mornings!

I want to stress that I’m not saying a good book or a good movie can’t relax and give us enjoyment – I’ve read many a book and watched many a movie that gives me entertainment and even inspires me in my faith but we shouldn’t be seeking these things as our sole form of quickening – we should be looking only to the Lord for that renewal.  If all you’re reading is the next Christian fiction novel, no matter how great, it’s no replacement for the Bible and for prayer, where you’ll find true life!  If you’re weary then look around you to see what it is that is giving you ‘life, reviving or making you sharper’ and if you can’t honestly say “God’s Word” then please, Sister, re-evaluate what is first in your life and I pray you find the renewal you need.

Blogging Through the Alphabet

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

One response to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: Q is for…… #grow4christ #abcblogging

  1. Laraba says:

    Oooh, love this! And I totally relate to wanting to “escape” into a good movie or book to find peace and relaxation. Relaxation has its place but indeed, the Lord is the one I need to PRESS into when the going gets tough. Thanks for the reminder!

Comments are closed.
