GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: S is for…… #grow4christ #abcblogging

on February 14, 2014

It’s time for another Blogging Through the Alphabet and since the letter this week is S I chose, S is for Sleep…..

You know that time of day where you can finally put up your feet and release the tensions of the day with some reading time (for my hubby it’s T.V.) and nod off to la-la land…… or not.  I’ve been feeling very tired lately – I can’t say how much better I slept when I was working out and watching what I ate, I slept so great and could even rise early and go to sleep late and not feel exhausted.

Lately all I think about is how many more hours till I can go to sleep again.  I’m just tired – with everything going on I’m worn out and even with 8 or 9 hours of sleep I still feel like I could sleep for 8 or 9 more but that could be because I get up several times a night to make a trip …… well you get the idea.  When I chose sleep I had no idea that even God talks about sleep in His Word – who says the Bible doesn’t have something to say on everything?

Psalm 121:4 ESV “Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.”

Our Lord doesn’t sleep, He who protects us will never slumber or sleep!

Proverb 6:10-11 ESV “A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest, and poverty will come upon you like a robber and want like an armed man.”

Well this sleep isn’t the kind we want or need, this Proverbs tells of the sluggard, the lazy person, who doesn’t want to do anything but rest and then poverty, and not just financial poverty will come to the lazy.  It’s not that we aren’t to sleep, or even relax, but when it comes at the expense of working, providing then it becomes a sin.

Proverb 20: 13 ESV “Love no sleep, lest you come to poverty; open your eyes and you will have plenty of bread.”

Uh oh!  I love my sleep, I mean it’s so great to snuggle in my warm bathrobe and curl up with a good book and fall into a sound sleep.  Again, we’re not being told not to sleep but only to not make it an idol – remember my I and J are for post?  If we make sleep an idol (as it could become for me if I let it control each and every thought) then when we wake there will be nothing of value but if we wake up and don’t let sleep become an idol then we will be blessed – if we work we will have food, shelter and clothing.

Ecclesiastes 5:12 ESV “Sweet is the sleep of the laborer, whether he eats little or much, but the full stomach of the rich will not let him sleep.”

Ah, so to work makes our sleep sweet…..how awesome is that?  If you don’t work, no matter how much food you have your sleep will stink…..maybe that is why I slept so much better when I was daily working out? and I was limiting my intake of food?  Was my sleep sweet because not only was I working at home but I was also giving my body a rigorous workout as well.  I’m starting to see a trend of what the Lord has to say about sleep…..

I Corinthians 15:51-52 “Behold! I tell you a mystery.  We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed, in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we shall be changed.”

What!? We won’t be sleeping…..if I read this right and in context, it means we won’t just be sleeping in our graves but will be raised up into new bodies – bodies that won’t need sleep, we will be able to worship and praise the Lord all our days.  No more worries about illness, finances, what’s for dinner.  Think how fast a blink is, a twinkling of an eye, it’s faster than a second – that fast we’ll be made into heavenly bodies that will no longer have need of sleep but only of worshiping our Creator!  How wonderful is that?

A lot of this is hard for me – if I want to sleep longer than I need then I’m lazy – no one wants to be called lazy or a sluggard, but those extra 5 minutes in bed???  Well…..I know that if I made myself get up and out of bed and back into a workout routine within a couple weeks I won’t feel like I need or want or love sleep and I know the sleep I do get will be sweet.  Oh how the Bible and God’s Word are like a balm to a weary soul.

Blogging Through the Alphabet

