GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

BookLook Review: VeggieTales Pirates, Mess Detectives, and a Superhero by Karen Poth #grow4christ

on February 18, 2014

I’m pleased to announce that BookSneeze has revamped their program which means that from now on the name is BookLook Bloggers and I’ve been accepted as a Gold blogger which will allow me to bring you more reviews.

About the Book:

In this 3 in 1 bind-up of VeggieTales I Can Reads, Junior learns that even pirates have to go to school, the town of Bumblyburg takes an angry mud bath, and Larry forgets to listen … again! Young readers follow their favorite Veggie friends in easy-to-read stories that help teach early reading skills as well as sound morals and Bible-based life lessons. Books included in this title include:

Pirate in Training
LarryBoy and the Mudslingers
Listen Up, Larry

 

 

You can purchase a copy of the book  at Zondervan.

 

My Opinion:

 

My 7 year old son is almost to the point that he is reading so what better way than to combine a great, character building book with Scripture in a book that he could read almost on his own? I had the chance to review the 3 in 1 VeggieTales book that contains Pirate in Training, LarryBoy and the Mudslingers, and Listen Up Larry.  It is part of the “I Can Read” series and is given a beginning level of 1 which means it has “simple sentences for eager new readers” – and while my son can’t read every single word he definitely could read some of it which built his confidence.  Each new story starts with a Scripture verse taken from the NIrV Bible which makes for simple understanding and it was great and led to some discussion between my son and I regarding what each verse met and how it tied into the story.

Colorful illustrations which are classic of VeggieTales grace all the pages through out each story and are bright and attention grabbing. Each page has one to two sentences which makes each story quick to read, great for those children with short attention spans and who are just beginning to read so they don’t feel overwhelmed.  The Listen Up Larry was a story my son related to and he even put together that he needs to listen more to his dad and I and he said at the end of the story “that sounds like me”.  I will say that besides the Scripture the stories were not overtly Christian – they mentioned listening, forgiveness and such but the stories themselves did not mention the Lord. A non-Believer could easily read this book and omit the reading of Scripture – regardless though it definitely has the Christian moral outlook.  I’m glad to have this added to our library collection and it will be read again and again as my son gets better with his reading skills.

 

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws