GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: The A-Z of C.S. Lewis by Colin Duriez #grow4christ

on February 25, 2014

About the Book:

A Complete Guide to His Life, Thoughts and Writings

Published to coincide with the 50th anniversary of C. S. Lewis’s death, this complete guide covers all of Lewis’ works, from his literary criticism to Narnia.

C. S. Lewis’s work is widely known and regarded, but enthusiasts are often only aware of one part of his work-his children’s stories and his popular theology; and yet he wrote so much more, including science fiction and literary criticism. This volume brings together all aspects of C S Lewis’s life and thought. Arranged in alphabetical order, it begins with The Abolition of Man-written in 1943 and described as “almost my favorite”-to Wormwood, a character in The Screwtape Letters. This book will delight anyone who is interested in C. S. Lewis and wants to learn more about him, his thought, his works, and his life.

You can purchase a copy on Kregel.

About the Author:

Colin Duriez was for many years a commissioning editor at Inter-Varsity Press UK. He has subsequently appeared as a commentator on DVDs of Peter Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings, and BBC television’s The Worlds of Fantasy. He is also the author of The Inklings Handbook (with the late David Porter), J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis: The Story of Their Friendship, and Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings, and has contributed to definitive reference works relating to Tolkien such as The Tolkien Encyclopedia (Routledge).

 

My Opinion:

 

I have a confession – I have never, ever read C.S. Lewis.  I’ll let the gasping quiet before I continue.

 

Okay, now that that is out – let me me tell you about this encyclopedia titled The A-Z of C.S. Lewis, I chose it not because I love his work but because the man intrigues me.  I knew at one time he was agnostic even though he was baptized as a baby in the church, and later returned to the Church and Jesus – much like my own testimony, except I made the decision to be baptized and then turned and then came back.  I digress.  I have watched the movies of Narnia and have listened to the audio drama of the Screwtape Letters and have enjoyed them, but for some reason I’ve never been able to get into the books – but after reading through this book by Colin Duriez I will try to change that this year.

The book literally takes you through the alphabet and how it relates to Lewis’ life, and what I appreciated was the * the author uses so that if something else needs further explaining such as “The Abolition of Man” an asterisk by education means you can turn to E and find education and read more on Lewis’ thoughts on education.  If there is something that needs more elaboration on the topic Duriez lists further readings that you can find to read up more on the subject – since this is more of a concise book rather than a text on Lewis’ life.  At the end of the book is a bibliography of C.S. Lewis which covers writings by him, posthumous writings and collections, and a selected list of books about C.S. Lewis.  Whether you’ve read his writings or not or maybe are just curious about the man who is held in esteem in the Christian community and for his writings, this is a great book that can help you out in understanding the multifaceted Lewis.

If you’d like to see what other bloggers thought visit the Litfuse Landing Page.

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

