GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Raising Boys by Design by Gregory Jantz, Ph.D. and Michael Gurian #grow4christ #review

on March 4, 2014

About the Book:

Your son was created for great things, but he needs your help to appreciate his unique male design and to grow into the strong, loving man God created him to be.

Packed with doable strategies and eye-opening examples of what’s really going on inside a boy’s brain, Raising Boys by Design offers a practical blueprint to help you build a HERO—one who values Honor, Enterprise, Responsibility, and Originality. Among other things, you’ll learn how to help your son:
• strengthen his character, resilience, and self-discipline
• nurture genuine compassion and empathy
• process words and emotions in ways that fit his brain chemistry
• succeed in school and hone crucial life skills
• develop a healthy perspective of sexuality
• avoid the pitfalls of media and technology
• embark on a lifelong adventure of faith

This unique resource combines the latest research in brain science with timeless truths from the Bible to reveal the deepest needs shared by every boy of faith while also leading you to fresh insights for honoring the unique personality, talents, and God-given design of your son in particular.

You can help your son thrive today as the hero he is meant to be when you learn the secrets of Raising Boys by Design.

You can purchase a copy on Waterbrook Multnomah’s website.

My Opinion:

Have a son?  Not sure what to do about his behavior, his thinking, just him being a boy?  I wasn’t either – when I found out 7 1/2 years ago I was having a boy after two girls I had absolutely no idea what to do with a boy!  I thought for sure the ultrasound tech had made a mistake – then 8 months later a baby boy was placed in my arms and I fell in love.  Being a mom to a boy isn’t easy, some days are downright exasperating – but being a mom of a boy is something special and thankfully there is a book that can help parents understand their son.  At first when I requested this book I was thinking I’d fly right through it and get some ideas and quickly wrap that up with a review – I was wrong – this book is way more than a quick read and I’m glad for the highlight feature on my Kindle Fire because it came in handy in highlighting all the ideas I wanted to remember and come back to such as the explanation of the white and gray matter of the brain and how they work in boys (sometimes there are comparisons given to girls so that it can be better understood).  One thing that usually frustrates me about my son is I often repeat myself, so when I came across this quote, “With your son, you might have to repeat yourself a lot” (location 413) I found myself chuckling because yes, I do repeat myself a lot to my son and even my husband.

There is so much information in this book that reading it once will not allow one to get all the information that they can get out of it – which is why I did so much highlighting, so I can find what I need and when it relates to my son and our family quickly.  As a woman I can’t really understand how a boy’s brain works and so I found a lot of the information very enlightening and even while it gave me ideas about my son it also helped me see my husband in a different light – maybe,  just maybe he isn’t really ignoring me! There is a lot of specifics for boys who are in school, which was hard for me to relate to or connect it to my son since we homeschool and I do disagree with the text that says, “If you have time and believe he needs it, consider homeschooling your son for a period of time.” (location 2740, italics mine) This seems to say that homeschooling isn’t a viable option and it should only be considered after the boy has been in school and it should be done only for a short period of time – I would like to know the authors theories behind this thought.

I’ve learned quite a bit from reading this book and really hope to put some of what I learned in reading it to work within raising my son to become a godly man eventually.  One item of note I really liked the ‘next steps’ at the end of each chapter which gives ideas and things to reflect on about how the parenting is going and what can be done better – this is important as it makes me think about what I can do and improve on.  I have to say I would definitely recommend this book to families with boys, the book is great for both moms and dads and I can see it even being a great resource for grandparents or those who want to be mentors to boys and young men.  Too often brain differences are not looked at and often times that is where the trouble lies – boys will be boys – their brains work differently than girls and that does not mean anything is wrong with them or that they should be immediately medicated – but they need to be understood.

 

Please vote for my review by visiting the Blogging for Books site.  Thank you.

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

