GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: The Devil Walks in Mattingly by Billy Coffey #grow4christ

on March 19, 2014

About the Book:

For the three people tortured by their secret complicity in a young man’s untimely death, redemption is what they most long for . . . and the last thing they expect to receive.

It has been twenty years since Philip McBride’s body was found along the riverbank in the dark woods known as Happy Hollow. His death was ruled a suicide. But three people have carried the truth ever since—Philip didn’t kill himself that day. He was murdered.

Each of the three have wilted in the shadow of their sins. Jake Barnett is Mattingly’s sheriff, where he spends his days polishing the fragile shell of the man he pretends to be. His wife, Kate, has convinced herself the good she does for the poor will someday wash the blood from her hands. And high in the mountains, Taylor Hathcock lives in seclusion and fear, fueled by madness and hatred.

Yet what cannot be laid to rest is bound to rise again. Philip McBride has haunted Jake’s dreams for weeks, warning that he is coming back for them all. When Taylor finds mysterious footprints leading from the Hollow, he believes his redemption has come. His actions will plunge the quiet town of Mattingly into darkness. These three will be drawn together for a final confrontation between life and death . . . Between truth and lies.

Find out how to get your copy by visiting Billy Coffey’s website.

About the Author:

Billy Coffey’s critically-acclaimed books combine rural Southern charm with a vision far beyond the ordinary. He is a regular contributor to several publications, where he writes about faith and life. Billy lives with his wife and two children in Virginia’s Blue Ridge Mountains.

You can learn more about Billy Coffey and his books at his website, Billy Coffey or find him on Facebook or Twitter.

My Opinion:

I’ve never heard of Billy Coffey but the book’s description had me thinking this would be a great read, unfortunately I started it while we were/are in the middle of moving so it took me longer to read it but it was a also a ‘heavier’ than usual fiction read so I couldn’t just keep flipping pages and get the book, but had to savor it to really get it.  At first I was thinking what did I get myself into because it wasn’t my usual genre and had a much more supernatural bent, I’m not sure how I feel about that at this point, but the book did end up pulling me into the story and kept me reading because I had to know what happened to cause Philip’s death and how Jake, Kate and Taylor responded to the years of guilt.  As I said this was a deeper book and so it took a little to draw me in and I now appreciate that slow draw in because it forced me to savor the story and get to know the characters and the town of Mattingly that I don’t think I would have done had I been reading it faster.

As I said there is a bit of a supernatural bent, which seemed to be Christian in thought but it wasn’t totally spelled out – although the idea of forgiveness and acceptance are a big part of the story and that really shines through in the story and I think regardless of the supernatural aspect (I do believe the veil between Heaven and Earth can be thin at times) it was a great book about how guilt can destroy lives and that isn’t what God wants for us, although guilt can also serve as a spring board for repentance and gaining forgiveness.  After reading The Devil Walks in Mattingly I will be looking to read Billy Coffey’s other books and see how they stand up against this one.  I must issue one word of caution, the young girl character (her name is escaping me right now) does have intimate relations with young men and her dad finds evidence of that, so if you have a young adult I would caution you to read it first before handing it over to make sure you know what is discussed in the book.

See what other readers thought about this book by visiting the Litfuse Landing Page.

Billy Coffey is celebrating his new book, The Devil Walks in Mattingly, with a Kindle Fire HDX giveaway.

mattingly-400-click

One winner will receive:

  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • The Devil Walks in Mattingly by Billy Coffey

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on April 5th. Winner will be announced April  7th on Billy’s blog. Watch Billy give the backstory of the book here.

 

Don’t miss a moment of the fun; enter today and be sure to stop by Billy’s blog on April 7th to see if you won.

