GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: W and X are for….. #grow4christ #abcblogging

on March 21, 2014

I apologize for once again getting behind – it’s been a long couple of weeks.  We are finally moving into our new house, we still have some stuff to get to my mom’s new place and some stuff to get out of our old place but we are moving along.  I’ve had a friend help me strip the wallpaper off the ‘dining room’ walls so I can paint and put my bookshelves up.  My husband spent some more time in the hospital and we gave up our dogs after walking in our house to find that one or both of them (not sure which) had killed my daughter’s guinea pigs.  So I’m behind…..again……but I’m here to bring you both W and X (and I thought Q was hard!)

W is for Worthy…..

In the King James Bible the word worthy appears 68 times in 66 verses – and don’t we all at times feel unworthy?  I think we get so caught up in what the world thinks that we forget what God thinks, and that He is the one who considers us worthy, He loves us and He wants us to belong to Him.

Even John the Baptist felt unworthy – because Jesus was following and He would be the Lamb – it’s not a sin to feel unworthy.  None of us were worthy of such a significant gift that God gave – the death and resurrection of His Son – but He loved us so much that before we were born He made a way that we could seek Him and become worthy, we can accept His gift of life and call on His Son and be worthy.

In Matthew 8 we read of a Centurion who felt he was unworthy, “The centurion answered and said, Lord, I am not worthy that thou shouldest come under my roof: but speak the word only, and my servant shall be healed.” (Matthew 8:8)  But Jesus’ didn’t seen him as unworthy – He healed the Centurion’s servant because he had faith to ask.

Am I worthy of Heaven?  No, not in my own power – not by my works.  If I tried to be worthy of Heaven by my own self, I would fall short, very, very short but I have hope, I have faith.  Do I fall short everyday?  Yes, I’m human but again I have hope, I have faith.  Some would tell me it’s vain or pride (which can be a sin) that I can know that I’m worthy of Heaven, that I’m worthy of God’s love versus His wrath – but no,

When I called upon Jesus to save me – I made a conscious choice to be redeemed, to become worthy of all that He gave – His life, His death, His resurrection and His love.

The only thing I was worthy of before was death and suffering – now I have the hope, I have the faith that when I die I will be found worthy – even with my shortcomings that I strive to repent and die to daily – that I will and am worthy of Jesus’ sacrifice and that makes life worth living.

And, now I change course a bit…..

X is for Xenial (yes, I didn’t know that word existed either until I found a site called, Phrontistery)

Xenial means having hospitality towards guests.  There is a city near me named Xenia and they derived their name from the Greek word for hospitality or Xenial – which is an interesting side note.

Even the Bible has some to say about hospitality (a lover of hospitality is philoxenos and given to hospitality is philoxenia) a bishop is encouraged to be hospitable.  The body of Christ is to also to be hospitable (Romans 12:13).  We should do it without grudge (I Peter 4:9).

This is one area of the Christian life I’ve lacked in – I always felt our old house was unworthy of hospitality, it was too small, too much was wrong with it, and on and on….now that I’m moving into a bigger house I look forward to showing hospitality to others and my husband is even thinking of having a small Christmas gathering and it’s only March!  I guess I should get to work.  My new house is much better suited to entertaining and hosting others – I’ll have more room to welcome others and while it’s not thoroughly cleaned just yet it is in much better shape than our old house.

My children will be able to have sleep overs with their friends and we’ll even be able to have birthday parties for them in our own house versus having to rent a place with space large enough to accommodate!  I’m so very excited.  While my house will never be totally cleaned (we live in it after all) I know that I am called to be Xenial to others, whether they be family, friends or even people who come knocking from other religions and wish to tell me about it – maybe, my hospitality to them will open their hearts to the Truth and love that Jesus so wants me (and all Christians) to extend to others through hospitality.

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

One response to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: W and X are for….. #grow4christ #abcblogging

  1. Laraba says:

    Ooh, I LOVE “Xenial”. I have not been very good about hospitality and that in spite of (as you know) a very large house. Good thoughts, very good thoughts!

Comments are closed.
