GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: Y is for Yikes! #grow4christ #abcblogging

on March 28, 2014

Read about what Y is for for me - Y is for Yikes!

 

I know it’s not real deep and probably not even really inspirational but for my Blogging Through the Alphabet for letter Y I chose Yikes.  I’ve had a few yikes! moments the last few days weeks and thought what better way to remember them by writing a blog post and also because I just don’t want to try to figure out another Y word. 😀

 

So we’re still getting situated into our new house – there are boxes everywhere and so things are a little stressful, such as I’m missing a couple review books which I think are in a closet that is surrounded by boxes and cannot be accessed right now.  Yikes!  Not to mention I can’t find my USB cord for my camera so I can download our pictures from an Underground Railroad safe house field trip.  If you’ve never moved then you cannot understand this yikes moment – it is and can be totally overwhelming.

 

So is “yikes” really a word with a real definition?  I went to find out.  Mirriam-Webster online dictionary defines yikes as a way to express fear or astonishment and it’s more than likely an alteration of the work yoicks and was first known to be used in 1957.  Yoicks, in case you’re interested is used as a form or encouragement to foxhounds on a hunt and it’s first known use was in 1774.  So a bit of word history (I’m sure there is a technical term for that but I’m too tired to find out).

 

So anyway – some people might think yikes is slang or even derogatory but I’ve used it a lot lately – like when I was on the highway last night and my lane ended (speed limit was 45 since it was a construction area and I was the only one doing 45) and a semi wouldn’t let me over (even though state highway patrol was guarding the stretch not one seemed to care about little ol’ me with my mom and daughter in the car) I had to run up partially on a construction barrel, thankfully another driver took pity and stopped so I could get over (many thanks to him for risking his life too).  Yikes!  We took the back way home and avoided the highway on our return trip.

 

So while yikes can be used to express fear like it did for my two examples above it can also be used for astonishment like “yikes! our bed is finally here!”  trust me that is good thing since I haven’t had a bed in 5 or 6 years.  Or like when I found out some local history and the sadness that it will be torn down in the next year or so.  There are a lot worse words to use and so I chose yikes to show my astonishment when something surprises me – it’s not used as much today – people choosing to use the Lord’s name in vain or use cuss words to show their fear or surprise, which is sad.

 

Have you had a “yikes” moment lately?  I’d love to know.

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

Blogging Through the Alphabet

