GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate’s Life by Carole P. Roman #grow4christ #review

on April 4, 2014

About the Book:

Captain No Beard and his pirate ship The Flying Dragon set sail for a voyage of the imagination with his fearless crew of four: First Mate Hallie, Mongo the Monkey, Linus the loudmouthed lion, and Fribbet the floppy frog. Normally a young boy named Alexander, his cousin Hallie, and three stuffed animals, once they board his bed their world is transformed into a magical vessel sailing the seven seas on dangerous and exciting adventures!

 

You can purchase a copy at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and on Create Space e-store.

 

 

My Opinion:

 

I’ve had the pleasure of reading other of Carole P. Roman’s books to my children through being a part of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, and so when I had the change to read Captain No Beard through Bostick Communications I knew I had to check it out!  One thing a lot of children don’t exercise is their ability to create through their imagination and I think that is what I liked so much about this cute 40 page children’s book.  While I don’t like to make pirates sound like a good thing, children will pretend and the young boy Alexander and his cousin Hallie pretend to be pirates – but they aren’t bad.  My son loved the colorful illustrations and when I asked him who the mermaid was at the end he answered and I knew he was paying attention!

 

It was a fun, quick read while we waited during a recent medical appointment and it kept his interest and mine during the entire story, even I wanted to know what was going on because there is no clue given that these two children are indeed using their imagination. My son laughed when I gave my best pirate voice when shouting “shiver me timbers” or “sail ho’ ” while reading – of course he is still young enough to enjoy my silly antics when reading a loud to him.  The book has won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Best of 2012 Kirkus Reviews – and once you read it with your child you’ll see why.  Letting a child explore the world through imagination can go a long way in how they understand the real world and even maybe create a love of learning that they seek out on their own.

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

3 responses to “Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate’s Life by Carole P. Roman #grow4christ #review

  1. Thank you for all your support and the wonderful review!!!

  2. […] before you’ll know that I’ve read other of Carole P. Roman’s books before like Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate’s Life or the If You Were Me and Lived in series and they all have a great educational value or at least […]

  3. […] these had between the covers.  You may read my review of another Captain No Beard book at this post, like the other one the books encourage children to use their imagination.  Captain No Beard sails […]

Comments are closed.
