GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Book #review: Treasuring Christ: When Your Hands are Full by Gloria Furman #grow4christ

on April 9, 2014

About the Book:

Grocery shopping. Soccer practice. Dirty dishes.

Motherhood is tough, and it often feels like the to-do list just gets longer and longer every day—making it hard to experience true joy in God, our children, and the gospel.

In this encouraging book for frazzled moms, Gloria Furman helps us reorient our vision of motherhood around what the Bible teaches. Showing how to pursue a vibrant relationship with God—even when discouragement sets in and the laundry still needs to be washed—this book will help you treasure Christ more deeply no matter how busy you are.

 

You can purchase a copy at Crossway.

 

About the Author:

Gloria Furman is a wife, mother of four young children, doula, and blogger. In 2008 her family moved to the Middle East to plant Redeemer Church of Dubai where her husband, Dave, serves as the pastor. She is the author of Glimpses of Grace and Treasuring Christ When Your Hands Are Full, and blogs regularly at The Gospel Coalition and GloriaFurman.com.

 

 

 

My Opinion:

 

As I write this review my children are fighting, at least two of them are, and so I try to remain patient and know that at some point I will yell.  I also sit surrounded by unpacked boxes from our recent move, thinking of a long doctor appointment tomorrow to prepare for a medical procedure for my husband and a myriad of other ‘things’ that must be done in the course of my day as a homemaker, wife, homeschool mom.  I can relate to Gloria’s frustration of having a husband who has medical issues and cannot help out a lot around the house or with the children – my husband’s recent medical condition leaves me feeling some days mad, angry and frustrated – and I know it’s not his fault, or mine or the children.  I’m so glad that I took the time to read Treasuring Christ because of it’s short chapters it made it easy to read in times when I didn’t have time and to glean a bit of wisdom from her writing.

Divided into 2 parts and 11 chapters the book gives moms a way to treasure what Christ has done for us, for our children, for our husband and revel in that and relish His love for us – even when we see ourselves as failures (like when they are fighting and I yell).  As a mom of three, I don’t have as many children as some of my friends, but I still receive the “your hands are full” comment from strangers and even from family – reading the chapter about “hands full of blessings” will hopefully have me seeing the comment less for the offensive nature and for seeing what I do – my hands are full of blessings –  my son who still likes to sit next to me while I read aloud to him, my oldest who is wise beyond her years and my middle daughter who can regale me with her beautiful voice (even if that means I hear “Let It Go” for the thousandth time!).

I thoroughly enjoyed my reading of this little book, only 160 pages but big on inspiration and Scripture – which is what all moms need to focus on.  Whether it’s a half an hour at one time or 5 minutes there or 5 minutes here, we need to treasure Christ and only in Him can we be the mom’s that we need to be to our children, and even wives to our husbands.  I will be re-reading this again as well as implementing the free study guide available for the book because we all need to treasure Christ in our daily lives and know that He is there in our failures and in our success.

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

