GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Life Sentence Publishing: Two Mother’s and their 60-year Secret by Nita B. Rogers #grow4christ #bookreview

on April 25, 2014

About the Book:

Childless couples in the twenty-first century have a number of options when they choose to adopt, but in 1936, options were fewer. There were few counselors who could help advise those wanting to adopt. So Tommie and Minnie Brock set out to find a baby on their own and told only one person, their family doctor. The doctor connected them with a well-educated, bright, young woman, pregnant and willing to consider adoption. Then my adoptive mother and birth mother pledged in an oral pact to keep my adoption secret. For many years, no one spoke to me about my birth and adoption, and all I could find out was through some grapevine gossip.

This book recounts the sequence of events in my life that led me to full disclosure of that agreement between my two mothers. My life with all its unanswered questions has been blessed beyond measure, showing that God is in control of our lives. I still know nothing about my birth father, but I am certain I have a heavenly Father, Who has made me His child by faith in His Son, Jesus Christ, and has adopted me into His family with full rights of son-ship.

 

You can purchase a copy of the book from Life Sentence Publishing.

 

About the Author: 

Nita Brock Rogers was adopted at birth and grew up in Shreveport, Louisiana. She earned her B.A. in Biblical Studies from Luther Rice Bible College & Seminary. Nita was secretary for the 1973 Billy Graham St. Louis Crusade, Administrative Assistant to the Director of Evangelism for Florida Baptists, as well as being widely known as a speaker for women’s conferences and retreats. She led a women’s seminar on prayer and spiritual awakening for the Home Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention.

Married for fifty-nine years to Dr. Ben D. Rogers, pastor, evangelist, author and educator, she has served as the administrative assistant of his evangelistic association since 1972. Nita has joined her husband for crusades in England, Korea, Israel, and Africa. She began teaching the Bible at the age of thirteen and currently leads a women’s class in her home church. Her current ministry focus is an orphan feeding center in the area of Lilongwe, Malawi. Nita is mother and grandmother of five children, eight grandchildren and eight great-grandchildren.

 

My Opinion:

 

This book intrigued me, because usually we don’t hear about adoptions from the 30’s, 40’s, and so on because there were not many who did it, could afford it and there was a stigma attached to the word adoption so when I had the chance to review this book written from the perspective of the adoptee I jumped on it.  Nita’s adoptive mother never mentioned or let on that she was adopted, there were only a couple of times when a school peer would poke fun that Nita would bring it up and her mom would brush it off and Nita would again be in the dark.  After her mom passed she contacted her birth mom who had never let her husband or daughter know she had once had another child.  She didn’t set out to undermine her adoption as she knew in their own way her adoptive parents loved her but she wanted some answers to why these two women kept their secret for so many years.

 

One draw back to the book is it did seem to skip around at parts, but it wasn’t a bad skip around, but there were times when I’d go back to re-read the previous paragraph to make sure I was following.  I understand sometimes during the telling of the story that we do sometimes need to explain something about the past, so it wasn’t a bad drawback, just a little confusing.  Nita writes with love for both mothers and there are pictures of her birth mom as well as the parents who raised her – I especially liked the pictures of her with her half-sister, who was grateful to know she did have a sister.  She writes with a beauty that comes through the pages, her love of her family and especially the love she has for the Lord shines through the pages as she tells her story and the closure she knows the Lord ultimately gives her.

 

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

