GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: Surprised by Grace: A True Story of Relentless Love by Elizabeth Sherrill #grow4christ

on April 25, 2014

About the Book:

Renowned writer Elizabeth “Tib” Sherrill shares her own faith journey in Surprised by Grace. Embrace this page-turner and see God’s work in your life every day!

Discover how God’s love transformed Elizabeth’s life from one of great struggle to one with a clear direction and find inspiration, hope, and strength for your own journey.

See how Tib finds hope, strength, and meaning in almost everything, from her unhappy childhood to John’s surprising marriage proposal; from her lifelong eccentric friend Mia to her dear father-in-law who was able to see her for the complex person she was even though he was blind. Enjoy touching stories about Tib’s family and close relationships, and travel with her to fascinating places across the United States and Europe. Find out how she overcame her poor self-image after a stunning encounter with her Creator.

“My hope,” Elizabeth shares, “is that Surprised by Grace helps you discover how much God loves you individually and infinitely. You are His amazing creation, and it’s time to live in that truth.”

Elizabeth Sherrill’s superb storytelling will make you experience every scene. You’ll laugh and cry many times over. You’ll be reminded that God intends hope and freedom for you. You’ll also find wonderful insight and encouragement in the inspirational “Conversation Starters,” particularly useful for women’s Bible studies, book clubs, or home groups.

 

You can purchase a copy at Guideposts and also get the devotional 101 Moments of Prayer for free.

 

About the Author:

Elizabeth Sherrill is the author behind the classic best sellers The Hiding Place about Corrie ten Boom, The Cross and the Switchblade about David Wilkerson, and God’s Smuggler about Brother Andrew. She also is a longtime contributor to America’s best-loved inspirational magazine Guideposts, and best-selling devotional, Daily Guideposts.

You can learn more about her and her website.

 

My Opinion:

 

I remember seeing Guideposts sitting on my Great-Grandparents coffee table when we would visit and I’d flip through them and then as I began to read I’d read the stories, some were harrowing stories of faith in hard times and others were testaments to a life long faith – they were always inspirational though and showed that God cares for each of us.  Who knows I probably read some of Elizabeth’s articles as a child and now I read her story – one that sort of mirrors mine in a way – I grew up in church (she didn’t) and was baptized when I was 12 (she as an infant) – but at one point or another we both were running from God.  Of course, she was an unBeliever most of her life, I was one from the go and then chose to run and turn away – regardless we both lived life on our terms.

 

I found myself nodding my head in agreement and at other times to the point of crying because I knew the pain and I know the love of the God who pursues us – of course we can also decide totally against Him and He will and can harden hearts – thankfully though that isn’t my story and it isn’t Elizabeth Sherrill’s story either, we were pursued by the God who loves us and pursues us relentlessly.  Elizabeth divides her book into 3 sections, Heaven behind Me, Heaven around Me and Heaven before Me – simply put she describes how even when she didn’t recognize God at work in her life before believing in Him He was at work, and she goes forward.  God used many people and many circumstances that looking back on her life Elizabeth can now acknowledge that God was indeed pursuing her even though she didn’t recognize it at the time.

 

This is the book a woman whose testimony isn’t filled with debauchery, drugs or other ills of the world but of one who still lived life on her own terms until coming to the realization that she couldn’t do it on her own anymore.  Do I agree with all of her theology?  No.  However, that doesn’t make her testimony any less just because I don’t agree with her choice of denomination or whether or not I agree with her that we are in a sort of Heaven on earth.  God works through His Word using us as He needs to at the time and reading Elizabeth’s story is one that is powerful and will be on book shelf that when I need a pick up of my faith I’ll turn to to see how He works through each of us and how much He loves us with His Grace.

 

To see what other bloggers thought of this book please visit the Litfuse Landing Page.

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

