GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Edify Media: When Calls the Heart; Lost&Found #grow4christ #DVDreview

on May 16, 2014

About the movie:

“When Calls the Heart” tells the captivating story of Elizabeth Thatcher (Erin Krakow), a young teacher accustomed to her high society life, who receives her first classroom assignment in Coal Valley, a small coalmining town where life is simple, but often fraught with challenges. Lori Loughlin plays Abigail Stanton, a wife and mother whose husband, the foreman of the mine, along with a dozen other miners, has just been killed in an explosion. The newly widowed women find their faith is tested when they must go to work in the mines to keep a roof over their heads. Elizabeth charms most everyone in Coal Valley, except Constable Jack Thornton (Daniel Lissing) who believes Thatcher’s wealthy father has doomed the lawman’s career by insisting he be assigned in town to protect the shipping magnate’s daughter. Living in a 19th century coal town, Elizabeth will have to learn the ways of the frontier if she wishes to thrive in the rural west on her own.

 

My Opinion:

 

When I was asked if I wanted a copy of this DVD to watch and review I jumped at it, I’ve been a fan of Janette Oke’s books for a long time and I enjoy the movie adaptations as well.  I had the chance to watch When Calls the Heart last year so I wanted this one as well.  I’m still trying to figure out how they all tie in together and maybe they don’t – if anyone knows please clue me in – as it seems like I somehow missed something between the first and second movie but whether that is true I really enjoyed this one.  Coming into a ‘backwoods town’ as a new, inexperienced well-to-do teacher where the women are mourning and the children are caught up in the poverty as well as many no longer having a dad would prove to be quite a trial by fire.  School is held in a saloon as the mothers don’t want their children being taught by the coal mine owners – the moms want their children to have something more than a dangerous life of a coal miner and a coal miner’s wife.

 

Elizabeth comes to love the women of the town and wants to help them but knows that just throwing money at them or the mine owners won’t help solve anything long term, so she tries to devise a way to keep the women from having to go into the very mine that took their husbands and a way for them to keep their houses.  Thwarted at every turn, the women and Elizabeth begin to feel their faith tested and they have to remain strong, not only for themselves but for their children as well.  I watched this with all three of my children present and there wasn’t much of anything that I’d have an issue with – they made the best of their circumstances and that is all one can do and there were a few tears shed as the story went on.  I can’t wait to watch the third installment and I think I’ll need to borrow the books again so I can figure out how things are supposed to go!

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

 

 

One response to “Edify Media: When Calls the Heart; Lost&Found #grow4christ #DVDreview

  1. Micki says:

    Love this movie!

Comments are closed.
