GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

I Quit Sugar: Your Complete 8-week Detox Program and Cookbook by Sarah Wilson #grow4christ #bookreview

on May 26, 2014

About the Book:

Sarah Wilson thought of herself as a relatively healthy eater. She didn’t realize how much sugar was hidden in her diet, or how much it was affecting her well-being. When she learned that her sugar consumption could be the source of a lifetime of mood swings, fluctuating weight, sleep problems, and thyroid disease, she knew she had to make a change.

What started as an experiment to eliminate sugar–both the obvious and the hidden kinds–soon became a way of life, and now Sarah shows you how you can quit sugar too:

* follow a flexible and very doable 8-week plan
* overcome cravings
* make food you’re excited to eat with these 108 recipes for detox meals, savory snacks, and sweet treats from Sarah Wilson and contributors including Gwyneth Paltrow, Curtis Stone, Dr. Robert Lustig (The Fat Chance Cookbook), Sarma Melngailis (Raw Food/ Real World), Joe “the Juicer” Cross, and Angela Liddon (Oh She Glows)

I Quit Sugar makes it easy to kick the habit for good, lose weight, and feel better than ever before. When you are nourished with delicious meals and treats, you won’t miss the sugar for an instant.

“When I quit sugar I found wellness and the kind of energy and sparkle I had as a kid. I don’t believe in diets or in making eating miserable. This plan and the recipes are designed for lasting wellness.” — Sarah Wilson

 

You can purchase your own copy at Random House.

 

My Opinion:

 

I’m always on the look out for a great book that has common sense and health at it’s core and with Sarah Wilson’s (who has several other books to help you kick sugar from your diet) 8-week detox plan there is no reason to put it off anymore.  I will admit that I have a huge sweet tooth – sugar, white bread, Coca-Cola, are my downfalls and that has played a part (but not the sole reason) for me having to deal with diabetes which I know with diet change can reverse itself – but I’m also lazy when it comes to my food.  The first part of the book is the plan – it’s 8 weeks and it’s not going cold turkey, although if you’re like me, it will probably feel like cold turkey.  Sugar is something none of us need and it’s created an unhealthy society and one that is obese and fighting the diseases that come with obesity.  Week 1 is focusing on cutting back, that’s it, cutting back – I get headaches if I go cold turkey off sugar so I’m glad this more of a step down program.  Each week has a new topic, even one that most doctors would set their hair on fire from reading, eat fat – not this “low fat” craze that has made more of even more fat (Sarah includes a lot of scientific research to back it up) and helpful tips as well as which recipes to use in the book – such as how to read a food label and crunchy-nut cheesecake.

 

There will be a time that you can add back in sweets, note that I did not say sugar, but sweets – like Stevia can be used to sweeten your sweets.  There are some fruits that are off limits and Sarah will explain all about that and why to avoid and if you can’t avoid them eat only in small amounts.  I haven’t tried any of the recipes yet because I don’t have some of the ingredients on hand, like brown rice syrup or cardamon seeds and I can’t eat eggs so I have to work on tweaking certain aspects or finding another recipe all together.  My one and only pet peeve about this book is when it’s mentioned as to whether or not it’s Paleo (it’s Paleo friendly and also has some vegan/vegetarian substitutions) she mentions something about this being how “our hunter-gatherer ancestors did 10,000 years ago”.  However, even with those two things (all the eggs) and the whole cave-man issue this is a great book to have on hand and get your body off sugar in a way that doesn’t force you off at day 1 and to not recognize the temptations (thankfully Sarah recognizes that we’ll be tempted and gives a lot of encouragement to go on).

 

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

