GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Moving on up…… #AHG #grow4christ

on June 22, 2014

 

On June 2nd we had our 2nd American Heritage Girl cook out and awards ceremony for our troop – it was a warm day, but thankfully cooler than last year’s so it made it more enjoyable.  If you check out the side bar I have a list of my American Heritage Girls post from our troop, if you’re interested, it’s a great girls group and we’re happy to be involved.  My oldest ‘crossed over’ from Explorer to Pioneer, this is a big accomplishment but even bigger is earning her Lewis and Clark level award – girls can move up but not all girls will earn their respective level awards.  There are many requirements such as service hours, completing a minimum number of badges, and doing special events – you can read about my daughter’s Art Show and Benefit she held.

 

Both girls earned several awards such as Living in the USA, Insecta Inspecta, Memory Makers, History’s Canvas, Pet Care, Stick Shifts and Safety Belts.  Hannah earned her Sign Language badge and Bethanne earned her cooking badge.  Bethanne remains an Explorer, she really wants to move up and it’s hard for her as she is 9 and will be in the 5th grade so we have to sort of figure all the ages/grades thing out before she can move up – she’s well on her way to earning her Lewis and Clark award though – having already completed all her required badge work and almost done with her required community service.

 

Some game time before eating and awards – my middle daughter competing in the sack race.

 

Bethanne receiving her awards, hubby is the picture taker as I’m in the back helping with awards.

 

Hannah being presented her Lewis and Clark award.

 

Hannah re-doing her cross over because I missed the first time. Thank you for re-doing it sweetie!

 

Being greeted by her in real life friends, L and N, after crossing over and being a part of the Pioneers and Patriots.

 

A group shot of most of the girls, those who could make it, in our Troop.

 

So a big congratulations to all the girls who have worked hard and earned badges and their level awards and to those who are moving up.  I’m so happy to have my girls involved in such a positive, Christian and character building group and I’m happy to be a leader that is involved in these girls’ lives.

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

2 responses to “Moving on up…… #AHG #grow4christ

  1. Kelsey says:

    Thank you so much for this post! I am not sorry I missed it for the reasons I had, it was indeed the last day I got to hold my grandma’s hand here on this earth. But I really missed being part of the ceremonies and being able to give the girls their awards. This post was a great!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Oh Kelsey, I tell you when Shawn told me where you were my heart broke for you. I never got to say good-bye to my Grandparents so know you were where you were supposed to be 🙂 We missed you too and you’ll be at the next one! You’re welcome for the post 🙂 also thank you commenting.

Comments are closed.
