GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Carole P. Roman: Whaley’s Big Adventure Illustrated by Alexander Luke and presented by Carole P. Roman #grow4christ #bookreview

on July 10, 2014

About the Book:

 

Join Whaley on his big adventure in the ocean as he meets Whales of all different sizes. Written and illustrated by 5 year old Alexander Luke, and presented by his grandmother, award-winning children’s author Carole P. Roman, this oceanic adventure of whale-sized proportions will teach youngsters about the different whales that live in the oceans.

 

You can purchase a copy on Amazon in both e-book and paperback format.

 

 

My Opinion:

 

I’ll be honest when I read that this was written and illustrated by a 5 year old – I had big doubts – because even though my children are gifted in their story telling abilities I know that at 5 they wouldn’t have been able to write a book.  That said I’m thinking Carole’s grandson may have dictated the elements he wanted included, like a playful blue whale who meets other whales and wants them to come home and play – but some of the more detailed facts, such as there are 40 different types of whales in the oceans today – were put int by Carole herself.  I may be wrong but knowing 5 years old as I do they wouldn’t have been this technical in some details – although there are exceptions to every rule and every child.  The illustrations did  remind me of 5 year old, child-like drawings although more like drawings painted in watercolors.

 

Overall, I enjoyed this children’s book and I think it would be a good introductory read to young children probably in the age range of 3 to 6, the pictures are interesting enough to hold their attention and are child friendly.  The short facts make it a short and easy read for children with short attention spans and without the ability to retain a lot of information.  Whaley’s Big Adventure has much going for it, including making more adventures since only six types of whales are visited this time maybe Whaley could visit some more and give us more facts about the other types.  I’d recommend this to someone with little children who want to introduce ocean life to them and give them some factual details about some of the more well known whales that live in it’s depths.

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

 

 

2 responses to “Carole P. Roman: Whaley’s Big Adventure Illustrated by Alexander Luke and presented by Carole P. Roman #grow4christ #bookreview

  1. Alexander and his daddy looked up the information. He has many books on sharks and whales. It is a favorite subject of his. He actually sleeps with a stuffed blue whale named Whaley. He told his dad which bits of information he thought was important and they wrote the text together. The actual story was created by him. As Captain No Beard is based on an imaginary game I play with Alex, he is well versed on creating stories. He came the next day to my home and did the water colors to match the text, based on prints made from the computer. I encourage both my children and grandchildren to be creative and stretch all the time. Perhaps it is no coincidence that my son is best selling author Michael Phillip Cash! Thanks for the lovely review.

Comments are closed.
