GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

#3ThingsThursday (a link-up) #grow4christ

on July 24, 2014
Three Things Thursday

Trying this again – the last time it took me almost a whole day to figure up what I wanted to write, but I also had three children who needed my attention and weather that was allowing me to go in and out to hang clothes on the line, that isn’t happening this week as there seems to be a chance of rain all this week – but at least the weather is cooler the next couple of days.

1.  I’ve been reading a lot!  I made my 2014 reading goal 200 books and I’m at 120 books right now on Goodreads (feel free to add me as a friend or follow my reviews).  I can’t help passing up good deals on books, like the other day when we went to a branch library and they had some paperbacks for sale: 6 for $1.00 or $0.25 a piece – well…….if you force me……I found the Four Seasons series (books 1-4) by Catherine Palmer and Gary Chapman, two Robin Jones Gunn books, 1 Linda Lee Chaikin book (there were two but I’d never read her before but I may go back and see if they still have the 2nd book – hey, it’s only a quarter!) , 1 Robin Lee Hatcher book, 4 Melody Carlson books plus a book on iguanas for my son = $2.50.  I also finished the Tyndale Summer Reading Program today, well as soon as my newest links are approved – then I can choose a free book!  I can keep reading and for every 5 books that I submit a review to in three places I can get a free reward book.  There is still time to join in just click on that link above in the last sentence.

The stack of books we found at the library (some are for my oldest DD to read)

 

2.  I’m going to begin planning a book swap with my daughters at one of the library’s we use, this will help them with service hours for American Heritage Girls as well as help us unload our old books and get some ‘new’ books into the house, not that we need help with that but these will be free.  We’re going to plan it on the same day that the village has their farmer’s market so hopefully we’ll get a good turn out – for every book a person brings in they’ll get to chose that many new books to take home.  Depending on the turn out we may have to limit the number people get to take but I’m hoping we’ll have enough that everyone will get a ‘new’ book for every one they bring in.  The girls will help set up the tables, which I hope to do by genre or maybe not!  As people come in the girls will count their books and hand them a slip of paper with that number written on it – so if they bring 5 their paper will say 5 – one daughter will man the door while the other daughter will put the books brought in on the tables.  Any books not swapped out at the end will be donated to the library for them to either shelf or to sell at their twice yearly Friends of the Library book sale.  I’m really hoping we’ll have a good turn out!

3.  My son is going to be turning 8 this weekend (won’t say too much as I’ll have a special post for him) and wow!  I still him as a baby but even though some days he can be a hand-full, he’s all boy, he has my heart.  He still loves to sit on my lap and be held, be read too, and he still gives some great, sticky kisses!  We’re really going to be focusing on reading with him this year – as I’d love to have him reading by the end of the year.  Our assessor said there may be some audio disconnect as he knows his letters, their sounds and can write his letters but reading – sounding out the word and putting it together is proving to be a frustrating concept to him.  She gave me some ideas to try so we’ll be trying those this school year, which starts on Monday.  I can’t believe that 8 years ago I never knew what I’d do with a boy and now I love being a mom to a son – he truly brings great joy into my life – even on those days that he cries over the injustices of a video game!

 

Son in our old backyard digging with a stick.

Leave me some comment love – what book are you reading this week?  Or what’s on your night stand?  I’m always looking for more great book recommendations!

 

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

4 responses to “#3ThingsThursday (a link-up) #grow4christ

  1. Sounds like you’ve been busy reading – LOVE IT! I know what you mean about having a son – mine is 8 now too, but he’ll always be my baby (and he likes it that way). Thanks for linking up again this week.

    • ohiosarah says:

      Yes, Heidi with us starting school soon and having a back log of books need to hop to it. Yep – I tell all mine that the only one who doesn’t agree is my oldest and she’ll be 13 next year 😦 You’re welcome wish I had remembered last week!

  2. Caseylk says:

    You have done a great job at reaching your goal! I think you will do it and may even go over 😉 Happy almost birthday to your son!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Thank you for your kind comments and I’ll relay your birthday message to my son 😀

Comments are closed.
