GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Handlebar Review: The Healing Quilt (Book 3 in the Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club series) by Wanda E. Brunstetter

on September 1, 2014

About the Book:

Retired Amish newlyweds Emma and Lamar Miller have decided to buy a winter place in Sarasota, Florida. But it wouldn’t feel like home if Emma didn’t take her quilting materials and offer classes. Wounded and hurting people have a knack for finding their way to her classes for some quilting therapy: Jennifer, a pregnant new mom; Mike, a charter boat owner; Erika, a wheelchair-bound teen; Kim, a waitress; Noreen, a newly-retired widow; and BJ, an artist facing illness. And when Jan visits from Indiana, romance is also added to the class discussions.

 

Read a note from Wanda where she talks a little about the series on her website.

You can purchase your own copy at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook and other retailers where books are sold.

 

You can connect with Wanda E. Brunstetter on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest as well.

 

 

 

My Opinion:

 

I’m late in posting this review (yes, I’m admitting that) because I realized that I really should have started with book 1 in the series as there are several characters mentioned in The Healing Quilt that come from books 1 and 2 so I had to borrow the e-copy from my library and find book 2 on my shelf.  I enjoy Wanda’s writings as they really seem to dive into the characters and their lives and make them come to life on the page and that is what I so enjoy – while her books provide an escape they also give me a way to relate to the characters and in doing so she has me inspired to do more, be more.  Usually, one would think that they’d be inspired after reading a non-fiction book but not in this case, Wanda Brunstetter inspires her readers through this book.  To help another person, to forgive, to accept and to love –  not only do Emma and Lamar want to be Christian they want to be Christ’s hands and feet.

 

As I said I have to recommend that if one wants to read this book, please, start with Books 1 and 2 – while it could technically be read as a stand alone the mention of other characters such as Jan, Star, Terry and such it may leave one confused as to who these characters are and how they play into the story in the 3rd book.  I think my favorite character in this book had to be the young teenager Erika, who is wheel chair bound after a diving accident – mean, smug and just unhappy Erika transforms in front of our eyes – a young woman who eventually finds a calling and realizes that quilting can be enjoyable.  While not wheel chair bound I could resonate with Erika’s unhappiness as that was me in my teen years – oh the angst I went through and Wanda touches on that in a wonderful way and really has us feeling Erika’s situation.

 

This is an easy read and while some things are too neatly wrapped up, I don’t fault the book or Wanda for that, I didn’t pick up this book or the other two to step into real life – but to escape for a few minutes before going to bed.  I wanted a happy ending, however far fetched it may be but then again God does work in some miraculous ways and what I think is far fetched is just His way of working.  It’s not your typical Amish book – as there are so many other characters involved that just happen to come into a Amish couple’s home, there isn’t going to be a lot of Amish speech in this one and even less about their lifestyle – it’s just a couple wanting to reach out to hurting souls and bring them some salve that only Christ can do as He works through us.

 

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

 

