GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: Buried Beneath the Words by Betel Arnold

on September 25, 2014

About the Book:

Words! Words! Words!

Words all over the place. Accusing, blaming, and degrading words are the worst of all. After hearing those words over and over again, we begin to feel the weight of them threatening to crush the very life out of us.

Buried Beneath the Words cleverly shares a true life story about the different ways someone can end up buried beneath the weight of negative words. Then it shares a Christian course for how God’s word can revive us. By putting the advice given within these pages into practice, you will experience an awakening of the real you—the you that has been buried way too long.

You can purchase your copy at Betel Arnold’s website.

About the Author:

Betel Arnold is a Certified Christian Life Coach, her passion is to reach out to women with compassion, empathy and encouragement. She is the creator, co-producer, and co-host of Simply Talking, a local public television show addressing issues drawn from our daily lives to deeper questions that come from our personal tragedies. Betel has learned to integrate her roles as wife, mother, inspirational speaker and family advocate. It is Betel’s personal life experiences of overcoming adversity where she was able to find the inspiration and inner strength to do the impossible. She inspires others to overcome the challenges that keep us from moving forward in our lives and achieving our goals. Betel Arnold has embraced her life’s conviction to help women become all that God has called them to be.

You can learn more about Betel on her website, Facebook and Twitter.

My Opinion:

I think we all have had word hurled at us – whether they be from well meaning parents or not so well meaning parents, friends, bullies and others around us – that still torment us today.  I know I have.  I was told to let the words roll away, part of the whole sticks and stones will break your bones but words will never hurt – there were days I almost wished that I’d have a broken bone versus the words that weren’t supposed to hurt.  Words wound even more than a broken bone – a bone can mend and heal but it takes more than plaster and water to heal an emotional wound.  That is what Betel’s book sets out to do to help heal those wounds caused by words by using God’s Word so that we can know and love ourselves as He loves us.  It’s a short book – I read it in one sitting for the purposes of the review – so unless you do the journal exercises it doesn’t take long to read and apply what you’ve learned.

Betel is very open in this book, sharing some of her own personal experiences with how words had hurt her and continued to do so well into her adult life.  I can relate.  I was told I’d never do anything or be able to graduate college from a high school teacher.  Well I did graduate college and I’m successfully teaching my own children and training them to love and serve the Lord.  That doesn’t even begin to touch the bullying I encountered in school that I carried around for many, many years – and Satan still tries to use them to attack me.  The journal exercises are fairly easy and quick such as writing down negative words that have affected you and then making a list of words and phrases you had heard instead.  They aren’t painful or long, but they can aid in healing.  Betel also speaks of Confession, not where you go to a priest but where you pray God’s Word over your life and she gives a list of her confessions in the back of the book – it’s a great way to really understand her way of confessing.

Okay, now because I’m a bit more conservative in what I like in my Christian books I did find a couple things that I do want to warn my fellow conservative readers, on page 34 in my book, Betel is recounting a conversation she’s had with her sister and the use of “Oh my ***” is used.  As I don’t use this as I believe it’s blaspheming I do admit I was shocked by the use of this, even if that is the way the conversation happened it still could have been omitted or altered and the book would not have been changed.  On the next page as she recalls a conversation between her and her brother she uses the word p****d and again I had a feeling of shock – I know their are Christians who don’t feel this is a cuss word but it’s not exactly a nice word either.  There were two other issues but overall, the book has a niche to fill and it does it well – overlooking the issues instead of throwing the baby out with the bath water, as I know Buried Beneath the Words can and will help many women overcome their issues with words in their life.

If you’d like to see what other bloggers thought of this book please, visit the Litfuse Landing Page.

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

Welcome to the blog tour and giveaway for Betel Arnold‘s debut book, Buried Beneath the Words.

Buried Beneath the Words Betel Arnold

One grand prize winner will receive:

  • A Kindle Fire
  • Buried Beneath the Words by Betel Arnold

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on October 12th. Winner will be announced October 13th at Betel’s blog.

Don’t miss a moment of the fun; enter today and be sure to visit Betel’s blog on the 13th to see if you won!

