GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Field trip to a cemetery and an old homestead

on September 26, 2014

Normally one wouldn’t think that taking a field trip to a cemetery would be, well, educational but yesterday we took a field trip to Woodland Cemetery and Arboretum.  I guess having Arboretum in the name makes it more educational?  But seriously the buildings on the grounds are on the National Historic Register and there are some mighty famous people buried in this cemetery.  Erma Bombeck, the Wright Brothers and their sister, Paul Lawrence Dunbar (so now we have to visit his house), and others such as Patterson of NCR fame.  We pass this cemetery each time we go to the hospital we use and I’ve always been curious about it so it was neat to visit.  There aren’t just people buried though, as there are some interesting trees, like the first Ginkgo tree that was planted in Ohio (there you go, it’s science!)

This bell used to be in the old chapel before it burned down.

A tribute to the Wright Brothers – there is a big boulder behind it under that tree which serves as the marker for Erma Bombeck and her husband.

Nothing famous about this one except that the person who owns it bought the statue for $50 at a garage sale and had it added to the head stone for his wife who has passed on and it’s now worth a lot more than that! I’ll never look at a garage sale find the same again.

This one is popular for group photos, yes it is eerie to have your picture taken with a head stone – my daughter’s refused to be in our group’s shot. I liked this one as the angel is holding a rag in her left hand and is wiping the slate clean with the cross behind her.

My son laying pennies on the stones of Orville, Wilbur and their sister Katherine’s head stones.

Paul Lawrence Dunbar’s burial site. His is a sad story, he died at 33 – his sister is buried in potter’s field in the same cemetery. His mother was a former slave.

We walked a lot – probably a good 3 or 4 miles – and our tour guide liked to make us walk up the tallest hills in the cemetery.  At one point I didn’t think I’d make it as my hip started to really ached, but I kept up even at a slow pace.  I’m glad I did or I wouldn’t have gotten to enjoy the beautiful view from the beautiful gazebo (it’s also a place where those cremated are interred).

Down on the ground the city isn’t much to look at and it has a lot of crime but this view was so beautiful, one can almost forget what it looks like from below.

I’d really like to go back and maybe see the whole cemetery from the car – as there were some other burial places mentioned that I’d like to see.  So after we got done and made out pit stop, we loaded back into the vehicle and went down the street to the Patterson Homestead.  We ate a quick lunch and then got to tour this beautiful old house, there had been many additions to it since it was originally built in the 1820’s.  Before I show you some pictures, I get giddy when history ties together so back in 2011 we visited Johnston Family Farm well would you know that the daughter of the Johnston family married into the Patterson family and so the families were joined!  Not to mention Patterson is someone you hear a lot about when you visit Carrillon Historical Park as he innovated (not invented) the cash register and also was a big help during the Dayton flood.

The parlor and office – this is part of the original house the front door was to my left. You’d have to see the house for that to make sense.

The dining room. You would have entered from the doorway to the right of me (which would be the parlor shown above). Back when the house was originally built there was no hallways because hallways were not common at the time. We didn’t see the kitchen – apparently there would have been a stair case which would lead upstairs to the bedrooms.

The master bedroom. This is over the parlor and there would have been a connecting doorway on the wall by the bed which would lead to the children’s room. BTW: closets were considered rooms so there would have not been any closets due to the owner being taxed on the number of rooms they had.

So that is the original part of the house, they then added on during the years including up to the 1950’s, but you wouldn’t really know it from looking at the outside as it doesn’t look pieced.  At some point, I can’t remember they year, a hall way was added with a main stair case to the 2nd floor.

The formal parlor – added on later and to the left of the original parlor. No children would be allowed in this room except for Christmas. This was predominantly used for the lady of the house to show off her valuables and entertain.

I’d also like to go back here again as I’d really like to get a more in depth look at some of the features that I couldn’t with our group.  I must admit that the talk of poached eggs made my stomach cramp up – the thought of eating an almost raw egg to someone with an egg allergy can do funny things.  My children agreed that seeing the homestead was their favorite part, because they felt disrespectful of walking over people’s resting places, and I get that.  This was our fifth field trip so far of our 2014-2015 school year and it was a lot of fun and we had a perfect day, not to hot and not to cold – although I’m glad our cemetery part was in the morning as it did start warming up in the afternoon.

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

2 responses to “Field trip to a cemetery and an old homestead

  1. How great to be able to have so much history nearby! I really need to take our kids to see some of our local historical sites – they’re as much fun as the far away ones, but so much more convenient!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Hello! Thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is a great resource to have near us, I’m a history buff so it fascinates me.

Comments are closed.
