GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Life Sentence Publishing: Out of the Dust by Avis Goodhart with Marti Pieper

on December 2, 2014

About the Book:

“Don’t waste your pain,” says unlikely missionary Avis Goodhart. She didn’t – and neither should you.

Despite a background of childhood abuse, dyslexia, and marital infidelity, Avis took her first international mission trip at age fifty. The church, school, and orphanage she later founded in northern Peru, all products of both her pain and her radical obedience to the Lord, have brought thousands of others out of the dust. This compelling story of an ordinary woman who serves God in extraordinary ways will challenge, inspire, and empower you to:

  • Eliminate excuses from your life
  • Recognize that in God’s kingdom, availability matters more than ability
  • Allow your pain to produce – not prevent – your obedience
  • Serve the Lord with the same abandon shown by one unlikely missionary

Note: Proceeds from the sale of this book are sent to the author’s orphanage in Peru.

You can purchase a copy of this book and help the author’s orphanage by visiting Life Sentence Publishing.

About Avis Goodhart:

She is the founder of Go Ye Ministries, is a missionary, Bible teacher, and conference speaker who has blessed audiences across North, South, and Central America. Although she holds a B.S.Ed. and M.Ed. from the University of Arkansas, her primary qualifications include the pain and obstacles she’s encountered along the way. These provide both insight and passion for her work in bringing the lives of countless orphans, volunteers, and others out of the dust. Avis, a widow, has five children and twenty-two grandchildren.

About Marti Pieper:  Her prayer involvement moved her to assist Brent and Deanna Higgins in telling their son’s story in I Would Die for You, which became a young adult bestseller. Marti, who has a B.S.Ed. from Ohio State University and an M.Div. from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, has written multiple books and often teaches at writers’ conferences.

My Opinion:

I’d not heard of Avis Goodhart until I was given this book to read and review, even though she has been on many television and radio programs – but isn’t that like most missionaries?  We don’t hear about them and all the good they are doing for the Lord?  That said, she refers to herself as an unlikely missionary, which in all honesty describes just about every missionary I have ever heard of – no missionary can do it alone and in our humanness we are very unlikely candidates for missionary work, but the Lord gives us what we need when we become missionaries.  In the end aren’t we all missionaries?  Some of us have domestic mission work while others are sent into harrowing, overseas work – in the end all Christians are missionaries.  I digress though – this book was a fast read but I won’t say great because Avis’ story is heartbreaking, one of abuse, nomadic living but also one of love and forgiveness.  Then there are the stories of the children – mothers who can’t raise their children so they bring them to Casa de Paz so that they might be fed, clothed, sheltered and educated.  My mother’s heart breaks at the stories, but I also know I would do whatever I could to give my children a fighting chance to survive.

While I do say that this is a great book and I love the fact that all proceeds from the book go to support Avis’ orphanage in Peru I didn’t find that there was much that would have me wanting to leave my home in America if I didn’t already have a passion to one day become a traveling missionary.  Her book did more in opening my eyes to the plight of the Peruvian people, especially the children, than it did to really make me see how to eliminate excuses or how to serve the Lord.  It was a book about Avis and her work as a missionary, but it wasn’t a book written to would-be missionaries – although it does make one aware of what they may be facing.  Usually, missionaries are already of the mindset of Lord send me my life is Yours, but this book could speak to the hearts of Christians who feel that just by throwing some money in a love offering, they’ve done all they can.  Even with my children, we’ve found ways to serve others in our community – my only regret is that we should have started much earlier, even infants can help and bring comfort to those around them.

If you enjoy a book on missionaries then this will definitely fill the niche, mostly there are books on those missionaries who have gone on to their Eternal reward but there needs to be more in the way of modern, living, missionaries so that a new generation can learn to become servants and be with the least of these.  I never would have thought of Peru as being a place where missionaries are needed but after reading this and another book this week, I know that Peru needs missionaries just as much as China, Russia or Korea does.  Avis has gone out of her comfort zone, overcome her obstacles that most tired to persuade her would make her a horrible missionary, to bring the Light and Love of the Lord to those who needed it.  I also felt the book was ‘safe’ enough to allow my almost 13 year old daughter read it if she would chose, even while Avis describes some life events they were not descriptive enough that it would cause me concern, and it would open dialogue with issues that go on in the world and how one Christian took the evil that was dealt and fulfilled Christ’s words – what one means for evil the Lord can turn to good.

You can read what other bloggers thought as well as enter to win a $10 Starbucks gift card at Life Sentence Publishing’s blog.

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

2 responses to “Life Sentence Publishing: Out of the Dust by Avis Goodhart with Marti Pieper

  1. Marti Pieper says:

    Thanks, Sarah. As the writer who helped Avis tell her amazing story, I appreciate your thoughtful words. Avis only wanted her book to bring Him glory, and according to what you wrote, God is doing that. Blessings!

  2. Jan Baynton says:

    I sat down one day to read just a little bit of “Out of the Dust” book. by Avis Goodhart. and I could not put it down. It was an incredible story and so many similar events to so many lives. I sure she has touched many with this book and will continue too. An amazing adventure God has guided you through and so glad you have been able to forgive many on the way. ❤

Comments are closed.
