GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Book Review: Beyond the Attic Door by Tracy Del Campo

on December 3, 2014

About the Book:

The year is 1925, and the nation is at odds as the “trial of the century” approaches. Mr. John Scopes, a schoolteacher, has been arrested for teaching evolution. Creationists and evolutionists are debating the existence of God and the authority of the Bible. Many believe religion may be doomed.

Meanwhile, eleven-year-old Lulu and her seven-year-old brother, Buddy, are visiting their grandmother in the Missouri countryside. On a dark and stormy night, they sneak into the attic workshop of their uncle, a brilliant scientist and inventor, and suddenly find themselves on a harrowing journey through time.

Join Lulu and Buddy on this incredible adventure filled with history, humor, and hair-raising excitement, as they discover the meaning of faith: Beyond the Attic Door.

You can purchase a copy at WestBow Press.

My Opinion:

This is a very short book at just 102 pages – I read it in the time I waited at my son’s Cub Scout Den meeting, so about 1 hour.  I really enjoyed the book, as it takes place leading up to the time of the Scopes trial – a time when those who firmly believed in the inerrant  Words of the Bible against those who wanted to toss God’s Word out the window.  Lulu and her brother, Buddy, have traveled to their Grandma’s house and as a time of simplicity leads to lots of outdoor time even during the hot temperatures of summer – time moves slower.  The author captures this ideal perfectly and the love the family has for each other, even though Lulu and Buddy don’t always get along – the love radiates from the pages – love for each other and love of the Lord and His Word.

That said, I wanted more – it was very simple, so it would be a good read aloud for younger children and a quick entertaining read for the older child.  I would have liked to have more detail about what all Lulu and Buddy experienced before their dad and uncle came through to grab them back.  I won’t give too many spoilers, as I hate that in a review, but the whole time machine idea intrigues me or maybe I’ve watched too many BBC shows, it would be great to go back in time – see the world as God creates it by speaking, the Flood, and even Christ as He works His earthly ministry.  I hope that Tracy writes more books along these lines because I know my family and I will be reading them!

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

