GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

BookLook Review: 52 Little Lessons from Les Miserables by Bob Welch

on December 8, 2014

About the Book:

Gold Medallion Award-winner Bob Welch crafts 52 nuggets of Bible-based wisdom from one of the most popular novels, musicals, and films of all time: Les Misérables.

In 52 Little Lessons from Les Misérables, Bob Welch walks readers through Hugo’s masterpiece, extracting dozens of uniquely spiritual reflections from this enduring portrait of poverty, social injustice, mercy, and redemption. Welch reminds us that Jean Valjean’s life provides the truest example of why real love is found in the grittiest places, and that hearts are made whole beneath the crush of mercy. Most important, though, Welch keeps returning to the intersections of faith and reality throughout Hugo’s writing—those places where mercy becomes an inroad to the heart, and where love is only truly received when it is given without condition.

Discover again why life’s purpose is found not in attending to personal needs and desires, but in responding to the hearts of others.

You can purchase your own copy at Faith Gateway.

My Opinion:

I still remember when I had my mom buy me a copy of Les Mis in middle school, the awe I felt as I cracked open the cover and began reading Hugo’s tome brought me in the history and lives of those living in France.  The story of Jean Valjean, Cosette, Fantine, Javert and many others enraptured me – and still does to this day – the story is one we can all relate to, we may not be physical prisoners in a cell but we can relate to being a prisoner of something, some sin that holds us, we know the pain of those who can despise us, and many know the love and forgiveness of a loving God.  Yes, Les Mis isn’t just a story about the French but about the bigger story in us all so when I saw 52 Little Lesson from Les Miserables I knew I had to read it.  Bob Welch gleans much from the pages of Hugo’s book and in doing such he relates the story of Valjean, Fantine, Cosette, the priest Myriel, Javert who ends his own life – to us all – who knew a novel so long ago written would still resonate with so many today?

My goal is to re-read Les Mis when I have some spare time and with it I’ll be re-reading 52 Little Lessons so that Les Mis becomes even more clear and even more life altering.  Even though Hugo was not a full out Christian there are many, many Christian values and morals and thoughts throughout the book and Bob Welch seeks to bring that out in his book – there is so much in Les Mis that so much can be overlooked and that is what I liked about 52 Little Lessons is that the little things that are missed he picks up and brings to the reader’s attention.  No worries, if you have never read or even seen a movie or theatrical version of Les Mis you’ll still be able to read this book – and it may just have you looking to read or watch a version of Les Mis.  From “context matters”, to “the conscience must not be ignored”, to “the law is not enough” 52 Little Lessons will have something that resonates with everyone – I know I can’t pick just one lesson that meant the most because they all spoke to me.

(c) 2014, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

I review for BookLook Bloggers

