GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: How Many Time Do I Have To Tell You? by Rachael Carman

on March 18, 2015

About the Book:

How Many Times Do I Have to Tell You? (Apologia Educational Ministries, September 2014)

You’ve probably said these things to your kids, but have you listened to what you’re saying?

“I remember the day you were born.”

“Turn down the music!”

“This is going to hurt me more than it’s going to hurt you.”

“Hold my hand.”

Your heavenly Father wants to tell you many of these same things. Rachael Carman knows how noisy it can be when you’re raising children—she has seven! But this lovely devotional book will help you to hear God’s still, small voice amid the chaos of carpools, cut fingers, and carpet crawlers. You’ll learn how to recognize God’s instructions for you, even as you seek to follow His example as a parent.

You can purchase your own copy at Amazon.

 

About the Author:

Rachael Carman is an author and speaker for Apologia Educational Ministries. The wife of Davis and the mother of seven children, Rachael challenges parents to live by reckless, obedient faith. As a direct reflection of her heart’s desire to encourage, inspire, and celebrate motherhood, Rachael also leads Real Refreshment Retreats, weekend events that energize and invigorate homeschooling mothers with meaningful worship and speakers plus practical encouragement for the homeschool journey.

 

You can find Rachael online at her website, Twitter and on Facebook.

 

My Opinion:

I must not have read the book description very well because I truly thought I was getting a book that would help me with all the sayings that I say each day and somehow improve my parenting.  I got something much better than a parenting book, I got a book that helped me with my walk with the Lord by using the sayings that I often say to my children, the Lord can use those same things to get our attention.  It’s amazing to me how the Lord has been speaking to me through His Word as I journal it and through books I’ve been reading lately.  Some of the chapters had me about ready to cry, like “Let’s Go For A Walk”:

“When he says, “Let’s go for a walk,” taking Him up on His offer is an act of trust on my part.

It’s saying yes to Him and His wisdom.  It’s choosing His perfect peace in the middle of the storm. 

It’s putting my relationship with Him first and not substituting a cheap imitation.” page 151-152

My life has had drastic changes in the last few months and I’ve noticed that God wants to take a walk with me, whether that walk consists of me actually getting out of bed when I don’t want to and walking down the stairs to get a coffee and spend some time in His Word or a real walk in nature – I can feel Him around me as I walk with Him.  This wasn’t the only chapter that spoke to me though, there were many, many others and I know it will take re-reading this book to really get all out of it that I can.  At the end of each chapter are “a moment of introspection” which asks a few couples that pertain to being a parent and also to our walk with the Lord, a great way to put into thought and action about what you’ve just read.

Rachael shares not only Scripture but also her stories, some are funny, some are painful and some are just real life and how God uses those things to speak to us.  Using sayings that are so cliche for parents to their children, Rachael speaks to the heart of every mom who has yelled, “turn down the music”, “take out the trash”, or “I’m the parent and that’s why”, and more.  It’s quick to read, whether you just commit to one chapter a day and it’s introspection questions or just sit and read it all the way through and then re-read it, I can say the Lord will and can speak to you through these stories that come from Mrs. Carman’s heart, from one mom to another this book will give you a bit of quiet to just listen for the Holy Spirit.

If you’d like to read what others thought about this book please visit the Litfuse Landing Page.

 

(c) 2015, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

 

