GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Leaving a Legacy

on July 12, 2015

Excuse the hashtag, too lazy to go back and fix it #grow4christ

It’s been awhile since I last posted anything but a review and for that I apologize – we’ve had a busy summer. Both girls went to 4-H camp and then my son went to Webeloes camp, they’ve also had College for Kids, and we all traveled to Project Dance: Detroit. So it’s been hard to get all that needed done, and read and make up a non-review post. I’m actually feeling poorly again – my ears are in pain every time I swallow but I don’t have time to be sick so I’m keepin’ on keepin’ on.

A couple weeks ago, yes this post has been brewing in my head that long, a friend on Facebook asked something like, “what is your legacy?”

What is your legacy?

Dictionary.com gives five definitions of legacy but the one that pertains to this post is: anything handed down from the past, as from an ancestor or predecessor.

This got me to thinking, what legacy am I leaving for my children? My grand children? Great Grandchildren? What am I passing down to them?

I have books.

I have multiple Bibles.

I have my Great Grandpa’s harmonica that my Grandpa gave to me.

I have a stuffed teddy bear made out of my Grandpa’s shirt.

I have pictures.

but……

What is my legacy?

Am I passing down a legacy of anger?

of yelling?

of conditional love?

of struggle?

When I think about what I am passing down, what I will leave with my children when I’m gone I’m not solely thinking of the material things, those won’t matter in the grand scheme of things. As a Christian I know that the things here, my Great Grandpa’s harmonica, my books, my husband’s shirts those will all turn to dust eventually or rust and be destroyed. I don’t want my children looking back and telling their children, “oh, how Grandma could yell” or “Grandma got so mad when we’d interrupt her reading” or whatever else.

I know I’m going to fail – I’m human – I will struggle and become frustrated or angry or sad – but I don’t want to be remembered by these things and then I’m drawn to a verse in 2nd Timothy:

I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois

and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well. 2 Timothy 1:5

Okay, some may say, well this was written from Paul to Timothy through our Lord and I’m taking it out of context – but I’m not. I’ve had many godly women and men in my life, my paternal Great Grandparents for one. I would hope, no it’s my prayer, that one day someone could say to my children, “hey, I knew your mom, she was a woman of great faith!”

I’m not saying this to boast or try to be prideful, but I’m honestly re-evaluating my life – am I going to leave a legacy where my children think it’s okay to yell at their children? Or am I passing on a legacy of love, patience and training? I’ll be honest right now – I think my children (and I know at least one will read this post) know I love them but will they see past all my failings as a mom to know that my legacy isn’t one of yelling, impatience, complaining and so on?

I want to pass on a legacy of faith – faith that when things are tough the Lord is there.

Faith that brings patience whether it’s a driver going to slow or when a child interrupts me.

Faith that when they are yelling and playing upstairs I am gracious enough to go up to them and tell them to calm down (that needs some work).

Faith that when they see me down – they see me turning to prayer, even if I’m not on my knees, that I’m spending time with the Lord, conversing, reading His Word.

Faith that when they see me happy – they see me conversing with the Lord and reading His Word.

When I’m gone I want to leave a legacy, not a material legacy although that can help as well, but one that will last beyond this earthly realm – one that will prayerfully pass down and when they see my picture they’ll see Christ coming through. There are many Scriptures relating to legacies – most relate to the Lord’s legacy first to the Israelite’s and then also to the Christ followers later. The Lord has given us an amazing legacy and I want to make sure that my legacy aspires my children to see the Lord’s legacy.

What is Your Legacy?

(c) 2015, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

