GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Book Crash Review: Catbird Singing (Amish Horses Series Book II) by Thomas Nye

on August 27, 2015

About the Book:

Lenny Gingerich leaves the interstate during a storm and finds himself 100 years in the past, or so it seems. An accident leaves him stranded on an Amish farm. Within days, he is driving a six-horse hitch and caught up in an old-fashioned love triangle. Bishop Mose tells Lenny to stay away from the girls, but try as he might, that is not easy. Lenny and his sidekick, a dog named Russell, both have a knack for getting themselves into trouble and everything becomes a tangled mess. While farming with horses, Lenny hears a catbird singing beautiful spring songs, which turn into an annoying meow as summer heats up. Life becomes difficult for a young man who doesn’t understand catbirds or Amish girls.

You can purchase your own copy at CrossLink Publishing.

My Opinion:

I had never heard of Thomas Nye before seeing this book come through an email for review, since it was Amish fiction, I requested it and then realized it was the second in a series so off to the library I went. Thankfully, I was able to locate a copy of the first book and read that before this one arrived which was a great thing as it really can’t stand alone. Some books can, but it really helped that I read the first book, Under the Heavens, because Catbird Singing picks up about two years after the first book and most of the characters in Catbird Singing are introduced in the first book. I want to say I loved this book, but I can’t – I liked it but it was hard to get through, there were a lot of descriptions that could have been omitted as they didn’t really make the story more interesting and the conversations seemed stilted between the characters. I’m not sure if this was supposed to be a young adult book or not, but it seems like it could have been although my 13 year old daughter might have been bored with it had she an interest in Amish fiction.

I didn’t love this book, but I did enjoy it – it is set in an Amish community in Iowa, which was different for me as the books I read set the Amish communities in Pennsylvania or Ohio. There wasn’t much in the way of lifestyle which was nice, since most Amish fiction readers know quite a bit about the Amish faith but it really was a book written from a teen boy’s view of the world, and outsider who happens to have Amish relatives and a way with horses. I must say that I do look forward to reading Thomas Nye’s next book in the series as I’m intrigued by Lenny and whether he’ll decide to become Amish and get his Amish girl or stay English and go to college. Overall, it was a good, simple read – it didn’t have any type of mystery or real suspense – and I’d definitely recommend it to someone who enjoys Amish fiction but wants to get away from the typical Amish fiction that saturates the market today.

