GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

CWA Review: Dance with Jesus From Grief to Grace by Susan B. Mead

on September 11, 2015

About the book:

ISBN: 978-1-63047-308-2 I List Price $9.99 i Format: eBook I Page Count 130
ISBN: 978-1-63047-307-5 I List Price $12.99 I Format: Paperback I Page Count 130
ISBN: 978-1-63047-309-9 I List Price $34.99 I Format: Hardcover I Page Count 130

Grief hits each one of us and can come from so many difference directions…

Have you lost someone dear to you? A brother, sister, parent, grandparent, family member, friend or a child? A relationship? A body part to cancer or an accident? Do you want to experience the joy of moving from broken to blessed? From GRIEF TO GRACE? Do you want God to take your hand and teach you how to dance…with Jesus? Yes?

Then devour the words in Dance With Jesus: From Grief to Grace! Expect to laugh through the tears and experience a deepening of your faith.

Purchase your copy of Dance with Jesus From Grief to Grace at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, BAM, Powell Books or look for it at your local Christian book store.

About the Author:

Susan B Mead is a woman in AWE of God and how much He loves each one of us. Her desire – share stories of hope so we can see God’s hand at work in our lives. Dance With Jesus: From Grief to Grace was written as her answer to “what does God want you to do right now?” in the Experiencing God Bible Study.

Susan spent 22+ years with Johnson & Johnson prior to losing her youngest son. She realized that things get broken, discarded or replaced, yet people matter. She chose to retire early to make time for the people who matter most to her, including you, a dear reader.

Susan’s credentials include BS, MT(ASCP), MBA and IFOC Sr. Ordained Chaplain. She holds certification from the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation in Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) for Individual Grief, Group Grief and Grief following Trauma.

You can find out more about Susan by visiting her at her website, book website, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Amazon and YouTube.

My Opinion:

When I saw this up to review through CWA I knew it was something I needed to read, I’ve experienced people before passing away – I’ve lost an uncle, Great Grandparents, all of my Grandparents but losing a husband is something I thought I’d do when I was much, much older or maybe I’d go first because what do I do without my love? Also losing our first baby, then almost losing our oldest two years ago after major surgery, then hubby’s hear issues and eventual pacemaker surgery, losing our home – yes, I’ve had my share of various grief and these were just in the 13 years of marriage. This book was a quick read and did have comforting words in them, some of the ideas aren’t all Biblical but they definitely were a comfort, so one needs to be careful even in the midst of grief when reading this book. Susan intends for the book to be short because she recognizes when one is in the grips of grief their attention span isn’t long and so spending time on a long book not written for non-professionals isn’t what one needs. I appreciate this. Susan, herself is no stranger to grief losing close family members to cancer, to suicide and a lethal combination of alcohol and drugs – she knows grief.

As I said though there are some things I do want to caution about this book and the first is that Jesus sent Susan ‘visions’ – I’m in no way saying Jesus doesn’t give us words and dreams to comfort or guide us but I’m as yet undecided in regards to how He handles suicide. This may bother some of my readers but I’m no stranger to depression and suicidal thoughts or attempts and I do know God is anti-murder. She receives several visions that Jesus assures her that people who lost their lives to suicide are His. She also uses “Heaven is For Real” which is a book I cannot recommend however I won’t enter into that here. She also mentions that she is with her sister in law as she is on her death bed and she tells her that she is once again going to be with her husband, Allen, and Susan tells us that she doesn’t want to get into a religious debate on whether we’ll be re-united with our spouses and/or loved ones in Heaven.

Even while I have some reservations about a few things in the book, this was still a good read for me, the questions at the end of each short chapter allows for a bit of reflection but not so much that one going through the grieving process will be even more emotionally taxed. One of the questions was “Have you felt God’s hand in your life” and another “Do you have a tattoo or know someone who does” – it helps in evaluating where you are and how you view things. There isn’t a lot of Scripture except maybe a verse at the beginning of each chapter, I would have liked more of that sprinkled through out. Overall, it was a quick read and one that I would probably give to a friend who is going through grief especially a friend who is well grounded in God’s Word.

