GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Family Christian: A Reluctant Bride (An Amish of Birch Creek Novel) by Kathleen Fuller (review and giveaway)

on October 22, 2015

I have read other books written by Kathleen Fuller and have always enjoyed them, this one was no different. Sadie’s story pulls you right in – from the time she was accosted when out running a business errand for her parents up until she realizes she needs to be loved and be able to love. A Reluctant Bride was a fast read for me because of it’s page turning qualities and enjoyment factors as well as the well portrayed characters that fill it’s pages.

As Sadie deals with the repercussions of a drunk driver’s negligence in killing her parents and severely injuring one of her sisters – she finds that she does need to rely on help, both from the Lord and also from those within her community – even if it means marrying a man she thinks she can’t and won’t love. As I said this is a page turner, it kept me up at night because I just had to know what was going to happen next and oh, how I felt for Sadie – in the midst of grief she must carry so much burden and I could tell early on there was something sinister about their community’s Bishop.

Through it all the characters grow and mature and are stretched in their faith as we all are in real life – it strikes to the heart of what forgiveness is and what happens when bitterness and hate does when it’s allowed to take root and grow. I don’t want to give spoilers but at the end of the book my heart was rejoicing over Sadie and Aden’s ‘happy’ ending, although there is more heart ache in store as they deal with the other issues that are going to surround them, I hope there will be another book to follow their story as they continue to grow in their marriage. Thankfully it wasn’t your typical Amish romance – and I enjoyed it for that as well – I needed a down to earth Amish fiction book and that is what I got when I received this book to review.

Giveaway!!!

Enter the giveaway for 1 copy of The Reluctant Bride by Kathleen Fuller – ends 10/30/15 – US Residents ONLY.

Winner has 48 hours to respond with their mailing address from the time I contact them in EST – if no response another randomly chosen winner will be contacted.

(Right click and open in a new tab – you’ll have to leave a comment on this post to enter) a Rafflecopter giveaway


//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

6 responses to “Family Christian: A Reluctant Bride (An Amish of Birch Creek Novel) by Kathleen Fuller (review and giveaway)

  1. Dianne Pfouts says:

    It sounds like a great read and I would love to win this book!

  2. Jennifer Fischer says:

    I love Amish fiction, but I’ve never read any books by this author. It sounds like a wonderful book!

  3. Jeanine says:

    I’ve heard from a few people that this was really good!

  4. Heart of a Philanthropist Blogger Kim says:

    I love Amish fiction. I haven’t read this book but I’ve heard of it and am excited to read it myself.

  5. I love Amish fiction! looks good!

  6. I’d like to win this book because I love to send Christian books to my grandmother. She shares them with her ladies’ group at church. It’s a wonderful way to keep the books going! Thank you for the giveaway!
    Dede

Comments are closed.
