GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: A Thomas Jefferson Education

on August 14, 2012

Photobucket

Vendor Name:  A Thomas Jefferson Education

Vendor ContactContact Information

Name of Product:   This Week In History

Price:  $9.99 a month

Age/Grade Range:  all ages

Photobucket

Do you want your children to love to learn, to want to learn?  That is what A Thomas Jefferson Education wants to help you, the parent, to do in your child’s life.  By using what they call the 7 keys you can unlock your child’s learning potential:

  1. Classics, not Textbooks
  2. Mentors, not Professors
  3. Inspire, not Require
  4. Structure Time, not Content
  5. Quality, not Conformity
  6. Simplicity, not Complexity
  7. You, not Them

You, like me, are probably thinking “I don’t want to add something else to my already busy school day” and I completely understand that but what if I told you that using the weekly emails from ATJE would help you in managing your school time and even eliminating some of the work involved?  What if I could tell you that your child will enjoy learning and look forward to it by being inspired?  That is what This Week in History is about, some of the benefits of implementing This Week in History is:

  • relieves fear, stress and burnout
  • cultivates cultural literacy
  • instigates projects and discussions that expand understanding and wisdom
  • empowers you to mentor your students in the classics
  • and much, much more.

When I first started using the weekly emails I thought I had to use everything in them and then I realized I don’t – you can pick and choose what you want or what your children want to learn about that particular week.  Yes, they will still learn.  There are several ways that it’s recommended to use TJE such as planning a week or two in advance you plan what you want to use and how it fits in with what your child is currently learning, on the day of, in the moment or review the archives.

If you’ve read my blog for any length of time you’ll know that I tend to be a more of the day or in the moment, even though I do try to stay within my weekly plans sometimes those get tossed aside.  When we studied the fall of Rome and the Byzantine Empire for our current history curriculum all I had to do was type in the terms and do a search to come with resources for mapping, discussion, and even websites the relate to this time period.  All the work is done for me – how nice is that?  It’s not just history but it’s science, geography, math and more and if you don’t believe me take a look using the free sample week.

 

To read what other homeschool parents thought visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

 
**Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

 

 

Photobucket


One response to “Crew Review: A Thomas Jefferson Education

  1. […] Crew Review: A Thomas Jefferson Education « GrowingForChrist […]

Comments are closed.