GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Ten Girls from History

on August 30, 2012

Vendor Name:  See history at its best, Golden Prairie Press.

Vendor Contact:   Contact Page

Name of Product:   Ten Girls from History

Price:  e-book: $12.00; printed and audio book is also available

Age/Grade Range:  ages 10 and up

Enter the life of ten inspiring and historical characters through the reading of Ten Girls from History.  You’ll find the stories of:

  • Cofachiqui: An Indian Princess
  • Madeeine De Vercheres: The Heroine of Castle Dangerous
  • Dorothy Quincy: A Girl of the American Revolution
  • Molly Pitcher: The Brave Gunner of the Battle of Monmouth
  • Elizabeth Van Lew: The Girls who Risked all for the Union
  • Ida Lewis: The Heroine of Lime Rock Lighthouse
  • Clara Barton: The Angel of the Battlefield
  • Virginia Reed: Midnight Heroine of the Plains
  • Louisa May Alcott:  Author of Little Women
  • Clara Morris: The Girl who Won Fame as an Actress

Originally written in the early 1900’s, Amy Puetz has edited this book to make it easier to read for modern audiences, this book is going to become a treasured read aloud for our family for a long while.  Even my son has enjoyed listening to the stories, so much so that I’m thinking I’ll have to get the boy’s version of this book as well!  Each story varies in length, some are longer than others – and some I’ve had to divide into two separate readings.

I use this when our school is done and we want to do something but it’s too hot to go outside and I don’t want the children on the computer.  So far our favorite has been the story of Molly Pitcher, while there is mention of her life after her husband died and her time of service I would have liked to know more about her life when she was re-married.  Some of the wording and grammar is still slightly dated so there were times I had to slow down in my reading so that all my children understood what was going on, but otherwise it kept their attention, even getting some groans when I stopped.  The book is 238 pages and there are no illustrations, but the descriptive, living book nature makes it easy to picture the scenes in one’s mind.

While it’s geared for ages 10 and up, all three of mine, ages 10 and down enjoyed it and it’s not just for girls since my son also enjoyed listening to me reading it aloud to the family.  I was given the e-book version and it was great to just pick up and go and there were no formatting issues that I observed and I could pick up right where I left off with the virtual bookmark.  If your just looking for a way to inspire Godliness in your girls and have them be inspired to do great things this book will help in that regard or if you just want a living book for some great history that seems to jump off the page, then Ten Girls from History is the place to look.

If you’d like to see what other homeschool parents had to say about Golden Prairie Press products visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.