GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew: Family Time Fitness

on September 19, 2012

Vendor Name:   Family Time Fitness

Vendor ContactContact Us

Name of Product:   Core 1 Curriculum

Price:  $57.00

Age/Grade Range:  K-8th

We’ve all heard the statistics – obesity is at an all time high in our country even among children and in our culture with so many electronic gadgets and gizmos it’s hard to know when to draw the line and get the children moving.  Family Time Fitness has a way to help prevent the not knowing how to get children moving – their Core PE Curriculum.  Aimed for grades kindergarten through 8th this will have the whole family moving and having fun – together!

I have been using things like Wii Fit in our school as our physical fitness fill-in and that is okay with our state laws, however I felt that I needed to do something more – my two oldest are overweight – and my oldest is already insulin resistant.  One hour of dance class wasn’t going to get it.  When I had the chance to receive Family Time Fitness to review I was very excited.  Using things commonly found around the house or easily and inexpensively obtained at dollar stores, Family Time Fitness is an inexpensive way to get your and your whole family up and moving.

You, like me, may be having flash backs to the gym classes of old where you were made fun of because of lack of dexterity so getting hit with that dodge ball was almost always a given.  Thankfully, since you home school that isn’t going to be an issue, but thinking of P.E. as boring or something to endure is and that is  what makes Family Time Fitness such a great thing.  It got my children and I up and moving, and I had to come up with some ingenious ways of doing things, such as after my son got a hula hoop stuck on our roof!

This is for the whole family, not just the children with you overseeing, but to get you moving to – and you’ll feel the better for it.  Not only will all of you be moving and getting healthier but you’ll find yourself laughing and having a good time without T.V. or electronics.  It is 260 planned lessons which take about 45 minutes (make sure you read and understand what needs to be done before the lesson – saves time, trust me!) and you can chose to do the lesson three or four times a week.  This worked great for us since we only do school four days a week.

Everything is laid out for you and it comes with the following:

  • start up training guide
  • lesson plans
  • 1- page summaries (these are great, print off this one page so you can remember what you need to do and not have to print off everything)
  • video demonstrations
  • assessment tools
  • encouragement emails
  • and online webinars

As their website says the cost of the program breaks down to $4.75 a month but if you have more than one child it goes down even further – for my three children it’s less than $2.00 a month for each (if you want technical it comes out to $1.58333333 per child per month).  If you’re like me and not knowing what to do but knowing you need something more than what you are doing I suggest you check out Family Time Fitness – it’s made for homeschoolers to get up, get moving and get fit together.  If you’d like to see what other homeschool parents had to say about Family Time Fitness check out The Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

 

Photobucket