GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Homefires Press; Papa’s Pearls by Diane Flynn Keith

on May 13, 2013

I enjoy reading books that have gems of inspiration in them, especially when those gems comes from the generation before or are written by a loved one who is carrying on those messages and in Papa’s Pearls: A Father’s Gift of Love and Wisdom to His Children and Grandchildren by Diane Flynn Keith that is what the reader gets.  Just over 100 pages in 17 short chapters (approximately 5 to 6 pages each) this book is a quick read and one that is inspirational and enjoyable.  I will admit to having been able to read this in about 2 hours – but I won’t let it go at that, I’ll be re-reading some of the chapters to myself and some out loud to my children.

The back of the book says:  “Papa’s Pearls: A Father’s Gift of Love and Wisdom To His Children and Grandchildren is an engaging and uplifting memoir that tells the story of how the author’s father transformed his own life as a Depression Era street kid on a fast track to prison, to become the archetype of a successful self-made man who was also a loving father.  The nurturing customs, practical advice, and life success principles (learned through the school of hard knocks) that he imparted to his children and grandchildren are a prescription for how to live a happy, productive and meaningful life.”

While this book does not come from a Christian worldview, nor is God mentioned except for maybe once in passing – the book is great for both Believers and non-believers, as the truths in the book are true and worthwhile.  I had originally planned to read this aloud to my three children ages 11, 8 and 6 however I kept feeling like I should read it myself first, and I’m glad I did.  There were a couple cuss words, which I admit did take me by surprise but I’m glad to know that they are there so I can skip over them when I do read this aloud to my children.  There are many concepts covered in the 17 chapters such as getting back up when you fall/fail, tell yourself you like it no matter how much you really dislike it (cleaning bathrooms?), hugs and even exercise – along with much more!  This little book packs a big punch.

A lot of this book spoke to me in how to relate not just to my children, but to other family, my husband, friends as well as those in public – and work ethic.  The only chapter that I think I had to out right disagree with was on street smarts, mainly because while the author and her dad lived in a different time and a child could run around their neighborhood or city with a friend on sibling and be fine – that isn’t the case today.  I’m not a ‘helicopter parent’ but I also can’t send my children out by themselves with the amount of people who prey on children are in my neighborhood.  Otherwise, I found this book a nice little gem which will find it’s place on my bookshelf – one chapter that I loved was the back rub – two of my children love to have their backs rubbed and I don’t do it often enough so it’s sort of sparked something in me to do it more.

If you’d like to get your own copy of this inspirational little book for yourself or your family you can purchase it at Papa’s Pearls for $21.97 ($14.97 for the book and $7.00 for shipping) and it will be personally autographed by the author herself.   As well, if you’d like to read what other homeschool parents thought about this book be sure to check out the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.


One response to “Crew Review: Homefires Press; Papa’s Pearls by Diane Flynn Keith

  1. Diane says:

    Thanks for reviewing “Papa’s Pearls,” Sarah. Keep giving back rubs – your kids will never forget them. 🙂 I thought you might like to know that I’m having a Papa’s Pearls Father’s Day Contest. Share a memory about your own father or grandfather on my blog and be entered to win a $50 Gift Card to Amazon. Get the details here:
    http://papaspearls.com/fathers-day-contest-win-a-50-amazon-gift-card-from-papas-pearls/ Thanks, again!

Comments are closed.